Monthly Spending

January 29, 2011 at 9:30 am 4 comments

Last night, while parked in what I thought was a legal street parking zone, I got a ticket!  $40 flushed down the drain in an instant!  That really put a damper on my evening, although the reason I was out on a Friday night was for a party, a party which included good times, delicious food, and sangria.  $40 for a fun night out isn’t that bad, I guess <– Optimism!

*****************************************************

As we approach the end of January, I am beginning to look at my list of goals (blog about that on Monday!) and look at my budget to see where my “miscellaneous” spending was, uh, spent.  Aside from mortgage payments, this is how I spent my income in January:

– Postage – $13.05

– Snow shoveling – $20.00

– Insulation – $75.00 (We decided to use the $500 our inlaws gave us from their lottery winnings to cover most of this, and I used $100 I received for Christmas and never added to my budget)

– Parking downtown Toronto – $15.00

– Parking ticket 😦 – $40.00

Truth be told, I did spend some money at Starbucks, Walmart and Bulk Barn but I used gift cards that I received for Christmas.  The most exciting thing I purchased this month was my coupon sorter for $4.95!  Indeed, it’s been a very frugal month.  February will probably be less so, as Henry and I (hopefully!) venture out more frequently.  I would like to spend more money on good coffee, good food, and Crazy Sexy Diet.

I just realized that this entry has no pictures, so in honour of Caturday, I leave you with this!

 

Source of picture

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Photographic Evidence Baby-o-rama

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erika  |  January 29, 2011 at 10:03 am

    tickets suck! happy to hear you got out last night to a party. was henry your date?

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 29, 2011 at 10:47 am

      I was lucky and had two dates last night!

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  January 29, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    did you park where we normally do? i’ll have to start using the parking garage if that’s the case… that sucks! since you share the car though, is it not just $20 for you?

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 29, 2011 at 2:57 pm

      We parked a bit further down the street, and I guess that is a no-parking zone! The street was packed though last night! Not sure what to do in the future if it’s like that…

      Hubby offered to pay the ticket, but I figured since it was my friend’s party then I should pay it. I am such a good wife! lol

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other subscribers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31