Archive for February 25, 2011

Have you had your oats today?

Since I’ve been home this winter, taking care of this little guy…

I’ve been able to make delicious oatmeal for breakfast almost every day.  I’ve made Carrot Cake Oatmeal, Apple Cake Oatmeal, and, now, Banana Bread Oatmeal (my current obsession!).

1 cup of almond milk or 1/2 cup soy milk and 1/2 cup water

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 ripe banana, mashed

Handful of walnut pieces

Sprinkle of shredded coconut

Have I mentioned that I’ve been buying TWO bunches of bananas at the grocery store each week to feed my Green Monster and now Banana Bread Oatmeal habits?  Someone call Dr. Drew!

I love hot oatmeal, especially since I now know the trick is to cook them in milk rather than water.  Oats are so disturbingly healthy for you and so cheap!  I think I should appoint oatmeal as the official grain of the Frugal ‘n’ Fit blog.

1/3rd cup of oats contain:

102 calories

2 grams of fat

3 grams of fibre

4 grams of protein

49% of your Daily Value of manganese.  Mmmmmm…manganese

Along with small amounts of many other vitamins and minerals as well

I’ve seen oatmeal at Starbucks for a while now, although have never tried it.  I have a hard time buying a processed food that I can easily “process” myself for much cheaper.  But if I travelled more or lived a more expensive lifestyle, I’m sure I’d appreciate having it as a breakfast option.  When wanting a quick breakfast when you’re out and about, usually the only option is a muffin that will leave you hungry one hour later or an egg-and-cheese sandwich that will sit in your stomach like a rock.

I recently read an article by Mr. Foodie himself, Mark Bittman, about how McDonalds now offers an oatmeal option (turn your speakers down before clicking on this link)!   McDonalds describes their oatmeal like this:  “We take delicious 100% natural, whole-grain oats and combine them with brown sugar and a touch of cream. Then we get fruity, with diced fresh apples, dried cranberries and two kinds of raisins.”  Sounds like this breakfast has six ingredients:  oats, cream, brown sugar, apples, dried cranberries and raisins.  But, as Bittman points out, “A more accurate description than “100% natural whole-grain oats,” “plump raisins,” “sweet cranberries” and “crisp fresh apples” would be “oats, sugar, sweetened dried fruit, cream and 11 weird ingredients you would never keep in your kitchen.”

Without a doubt, making your own oatmeal is the healthiest, cheapest option available.  But when out and about and needing a quick, delicious breakfast, I’m still glad that Starbucks and McDonalds offer these not-as-healthy-but-still-better-than-egg-and-cheese options.  Now we just need Tim Hortons to get in on the oatmeal love and we’ll be all set.

February 25, 2011 at 8:34 am 15 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28