Archive for February 23, 2011

Where there’s a will, there’s a walk

Today I had this very profound thought:  The only predictable thing about a baby is his/her unpredictability.  Pretty deep, eh?  This comes after one very long, very difficult night.  I should have known that his early bedtime yesterday was too good to be true!  He was consistently up from the time I hit “Publish” to 10:30 pm.  Then he was up consistently between midnight and 2:30 am.  He slept solidly until 5:00 am when a new cycle of non-sleeping began.   One of my new favourite hobbies is cataloguing Henry’s sleep times and then reflecting on the great amounts of self-pity and exhaustion I now feel.

Henry is now asleep, but I am not jinxing anything by even entertaining the thought he’ll be asleep for a few solid hours.  Because of this realization, I am currently drinking a glass of wine.

Can you buy wine in bulk?

Today the weather finally warmed up enough to go for a walk!  I’ve mentioned this before, but my day is greatly improved when I get a nice, one-hour long walk in there!  Hubby comes with me and we take turns pushing the stroller.  We stopped in for lunch at the Jacket Potato Cafe, a restaurant that specializes in jacket potatoes (aka “baked potatoes”).  Hubby had one and he said it was just “ok”.  I had the red lentil soup.  The service was great, but I wasn’t too impressed.

We also noticed a new bakery that opened in our ‘hood!  This is incredibly exciting since this is the first bakery that is within walking distance.  Oh, fresh-baked carbs.  I love you more than wine!  We bought two Creamcheese brownies (vegan?  vegan who?) and brought them home to enjoy with freshly brewed coffee.  Perfection!

Being able to get out and about gets me VERY excited for spring and summer.  Henry loves to go for walks and I am fortunate enough to live in an area with many interesting places to go.  I wonder what other (carb-focused) adventures we will get up to this year?

Will walk for carbs (especially if they look like these).

February 23, 2011 at 8:35 pm 8 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28