Archive for February 19, 2011

A Better Day

Well, our plumbing problem was easily (temporarily) fixed.  The plumber guy just plunged one of the pipes from outside and managed to clear the back-up that was causing all of the flooding.  But he says that we should replace the exit pipe from our house since it’s old and outdated (shaped like a U?) with a newer one (with a straight shape).  Cost?  About $1700.  Man oh man!  This home ownership thing can be the pits.  However, because we successfully completed an energy audit and should be getting about $3000 back from the government, it won’t be as much of a strain on the wallet (Still bites, though!).   And so it goes…

But I am writing this morning because:

1.  Henry slept great!  I made a conscience effort to make sure he ate a good, double-sided (if you know what I mean!), 20-minute meal every time he woke up, so he slept in three hour intervals and didn’t fuss after I put him down each time.  There is such a huge difference between sleeping every 2 hours and sleeping every 3!  He gets up every morning around 7 am, regardless of how much sleep he gets, but he just laid there cooing to himself.  When I looked into his bassinet, I got a huge smile.  And that, my friends, is why I had a kid!  lol

2.  I am drinking caffeinated coffee.  Oh, glorious and wonderful caffeinated coffee.

3.  I had a mango for breakfast!  Is there anything better in life than a perfectly ripe, fresh mango?

I had it along with a slice of Vegan Banana Bread.  I highly recommend this recipe!  I made the following substitutions:

– I replaced 1/2 a cup of all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour

– I used 1/2 a cup of granulated sugar instead of 3/4 cup

Next time I’ll try replacing a full cup with whole wheat flour and maybe using even less sugar.

I haven’t been following my dairy-free stint very well.  You know that bag of Smart Food popcorn that husband bought for the Super Bowl but was left uneaten?  Um, I can verify with 100% confidence that it is no longer uneaten.  Oops!  There is also cream in my cup of coffee this morning.  I really need to get some soy creamer!  BABY STEPS.

We are off to visit friends this afternoon and Hubby’s side of the family this evening.  A busy day, but I’m excited to get out of the house!  Plus I like to show off my cute kid.

 

February 19, 2011 at 8:27 am 8 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28