Archive for February 12, 2011

Vegan Eating: Last Day!

And so we arrive at the last day of my one week experience with vegan eating.  I have less than 10 hours to go!  I think I will make it.  At least I hope.  Saturday nights have a funny way of throwing all eating plans completely off track!

Along with a week of vegan eating, I’ve also been consuming one Green Monster a day (a goal for February as you may remember!).  Today’s concoction was particularly delicious because it contained 1/4 cup coconut milk.

Green Monster includes: 1/4 cup coconut milk, 3/4 cup almond milk, 1 cup frozen mango, 1/2 banana, 1 handful of baby spinach, and a side of Dr. Snuggles

I just had a quick lunch of a couple of clementines and an open-faced peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  Although I usually eat natural peanut butter, I’m currently out so the regular peanut butter had to suffice (which I like to call “dessert peanut butter” because of the added sugar and oil!).  Honestly, I much prefer the taste of dessert peanut butter but usually stick to the natural.

I’m out to dinner at a friends’ house tonight.  She reads my blog so knows about my WoVE (Week of Vegan Eating) and is planning a vegan dinner because of it.  See the beauty of maintaining a blog?  Friends will know all about your quirky eating plans and will accommodate you as such.  Or maybe I just have awesome friends?

Henry is excited to be going out on a Saturday night.  I try to refrain from constantly saying LOOK HOW CUTE MY KID IS because that certainly gets old after a while, but I can’t help it with this picture especially.

LOOK HOW CUTE MY KID IS

The expression he makes when he is “talking”

It’s during the day after a rough night (such as last night!) that he is extra-cute.  I am convinced this is some sort of Darwinian, “survival of the species” thing.  I mean, look at that double chin!  It’s almost enough to get me to forget the constant interruptions to my sleep (note:  ALMOST).

February 12, 2011 at 2:26 pm 4 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28