Vegan Eating: Day Six

February 11, 2011 at 2:27 pm 17 comments

I continue to kick some vegan-eating arse, causing me to feel self-righteous in the most pretentious way possible!  I made oatmeal for hubby this morning using cow’s milk which, I must admit, created quite the creamy bowl of oats, but I’d still prefer almond milk in my own.  Pat on the ol’ back for my vegan-eating self!

For breakfast this morning, I had one of my Banana Date scones warmed in the toaster oven with some cherry jam and a sliced orange.

These scones taste “healthy”, which is a good thing I assure you!  Not like cardboard at all.

I went grocery shopping yesterday and bought more trail mix.  I think this might be cheaper than the stuff I get at Bulk Barn, and a bit fresher to boot.

I like to mingle with raisins and cranberries

With a clementine in some artsy fartsy lighting…

I call this piece, “Dawn of a New Snack”

For lunch, I finished off the last of the Curried Lentil and Apricot soup, thus completing my Journey of 1,000 Lentils (how this week has felt!).

I had the soup along with another scone toasted with, um, NON-vegan margarine.  I had to relent!  I know there is whey in regular Becel margarine, but I just really, really, really wanted some margarine on my scone.  Is that too much to ask?  Plus I had already broken the DO NOT EAT REGULAR MARGARINE FOR YOU ARE A VEGAN rule by using it in the Sweet Potato Casserole I prepared for dinner.  I was going to buy vegan margarine at the grocery store yesterday, but we have a huge tub of regular margarine to use up and, well, I am just too frugal to have two types of margarine in my fridge, ok?  (Am I sounding as defensive as I feel?)

Indeed, we shall feast on Sweet Potato Casserole for dinner tonight using, of course, Oh She Glow’s vegan recipe.  What would I do without Oh She Glows as a constant source of inspiration?

I was feeling uber-confident in my culinary skills because I didn’t even use a measuring cup to make this!  This confidence was ultimately misguided, as I think I used too much margarine.  Maybe it was karma biting me in the arse for using non-vegan margarine?  Something tells me that the vegan karma gods are too nice for that, though.

Pre-baked

Finally, I show you the requisite picture of me and/or Henry (this time you get both!)

I really don’t like my hair in this photo, but at least my face colour matches my neck colour.

Also, Henry is very cute.  He has nice hair AND matching face/neck colour.

************************************************************

Ok, this is a bit off topic, but I was wondering: do you drink tap water? We use a Brita water filter and it is grossly overdue for a change, so I’ve been drinking tap water in the meantime.  Even though the taste is a bit metallic, I don’t mind tap water at all and would just go back to using it full-time if it weren’t for my husband and his delicate taste buds.  I know most households use Brita or bottled water for their daily consumption and I was wondering if this was really necessary.  Canadian and U.S. tap water is thoroughly cleaned and tested constantly.  When we were kids, we all drank tap water!  None of this Jennifer Aniston Smart water or imported Fijian water for us!  And we turned out fine (kind of).  Do you think filtered water is even necessary? Do you honestly hate the taste of tap water or do you think that the need to filter water/buy bottled is a creation of clever marketing companies?

This is your thought-provoking question for this Friday afternoon!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Vegan Eating: Days Four and Five Vegan Eating: Last Day!

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  February 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    We drink tap water and it seems good enough.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 11, 2011 at 2:50 pm

      I agree that it’s good enough, and frugal too!

      Reply
  • 3. Lynn  |  February 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    We drink tap water and it seems good enough.

    Reply
  • 4. Therese  |  February 11, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    We actually decided to stop buying Brita filters because I never use. I’ve never used anything but tap water my whole life and my boyfriends stopped using the Brita so we’re going to pack it up and save room in the fridge. There’s nothing wrong with tap water!

    Love the Mom/Son pic! 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 12, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Yes, getting rid of the Brita would also save room in the fridge wouldn’t it! Still don’t think I can convince Hubby to give it up though 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Sarah  |  February 11, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    GASP! you had cow’s margarine? you may as well have that ice cream cake now then…. lol

    to answer your question, yes, i drink tap water. i don’t even let it run a bit like you should before drinking it. (i’m such a rebel..) sometimes it even smells like a swimming pool 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 12, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Yum! I love the smell of a swimming pool because it reminds me of being on vacation 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Didds  |  February 11, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    Robyn, I normally do not comment here because I want you to come back to LJ (;p) but, FYI, tap water tastes like crap. I have hated it my whole life.

    I grew up on well water, which I liked and drank. Until we had our water tested and my mom started buying bottled spring water and banned me from the tap water, anyway.

    I couldn’t even stand the smell of city tap water. It made me want to gag. And I mean like, I could distinctly smell it if someone just turned a tap on. It smelled like chemicals. This would probably be chlorine and fluoride.

    Since I’ve moved to the city I can’t smell the chemicals in the water any more. Maybe this is something you can get used to over time, maybe they’ve improved it. But I can damn sure still taste it!

    Purified water has a very very distinct taste to it, and I don’t think it’s a metallic taste, because even well water has to run through metal pipes. I think it’s a chemically taste. It wasn’t good enough for me as a kid, and it isn’t good enough for me now either!

    (although when I was little you would have had to force feed me even filtered city tap water – I think I would have died of thirst before I drank it – and now I’ll drink from a brita filter)

    Reply
    • 9. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 12, 2011 at 9:23 am

      But tell me how you really feel 😉

      I can understand these feelings since you grew up on well water! For the record, I think that Fiji water tastes awesome.

      Reply
  • 10. echoingmetaphor  |  February 11, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    I drink Brita water but would totally drink tap water if we didn’t have one. My issue with water is that it needs to be ice cold so I don’t drink it directly from the tap, but I would put some in a jug in the fridge for a few hours.

    My bf is picky though and will only drink bottled water. I’ve tried to explain to him it’s not as healthy for him but he won’t budge on his views. Oh well!

    Reply
    • 11. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 12, 2011 at 9:24 am

      My great-grandmother used to keep tap water refrigerated in an old pickle jar. These were the days before Brita, so her water always seemed much more refreshing!

      Reply
  • 12. Peggy  |  February 12, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Louisville actually has one of the highest ranked tap waters in the country, so I definitely don’t mind drinking it. I usually only buy bottled water for the convenience, not necessarily the taste =)

    Reply
    • 13. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm

      I can definitely understand the convenience, especially on a hot summers’ day!

      Reply
  • 14. laura  |  February 12, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I drink tap water, but I live in Indiana so maybe it tastes better here? or I’m just cheap? Who knows!

    Do you feel full eating vegan? I feel like I’m never full when I’m eating veggies and whatnot.

    Reply
    • 15. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm

      I know at one point Toronto used to put fluoride in its water! Not sure if it still does. I wonder if that affects the taste? I used to hate swishing with fluoride in school!

      I definitely feel full eating vegan, but this is because I always have some vegan baked goods on hand!

      Reply
  • 16. Erika  |  February 12, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    You two aret he cutest! We drink tap water here. Sometimes it tastes like chlorine though… When we were in the country we had a well and even though it was safe, we only bathed in it. We got bottled water to drink and cook with.

    Reply
    • 17. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 13, 2011 at 8:20 am

      I am surprised – and motivated! – by all my friends who drink tap water. I thought everyone used Brita or bottled but I guess I was wrong!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

