Archive for February 11, 2011

Vegan Eating: Day Six

I continue to kick some vegan-eating arse, causing me to feel self-righteous in the most pretentious way possible!  I made oatmeal for hubby this morning using cow’s milk which, I must admit, created quite the creamy bowl of oats, but I’d still prefer almond milk in my own.  Pat on the ol’ back for my vegan-eating self!

For breakfast this morning, I had one of my Banana Date scones warmed in the toaster oven with some cherry jam and a sliced orange.

These scones taste “healthy”, which is a good thing I assure you!  Not like cardboard at all.

I went grocery shopping yesterday and bought more trail mix.  I think this might be cheaper than the stuff I get at Bulk Barn, and a bit fresher to boot.

I like to mingle with raisins and cranberries

With a clementine in some artsy fartsy lighting…

I call this piece, “Dawn of a New Snack”

For lunch, I finished off the last of the Curried Lentil and Apricot soup, thus completing my Journey of 1,000 Lentils (how this week has felt!).

I had the soup along with another scone toasted with, um, NON-vegan margarine.  I had to relent!  I know there is whey in regular Becel margarine, but I just really, really, really wanted some margarine on my scone.  Is that too much to ask?  Plus I had already broken the DO NOT EAT REGULAR MARGARINE FOR YOU ARE A VEGAN rule by using it in the Sweet Potato Casserole I prepared for dinner.  I was going to buy vegan margarine at the grocery store yesterday, but we have a huge tub of regular margarine to use up and, well, I am just too frugal to have two types of margarine in my fridge, ok?  (Am I sounding as defensive as I feel?)

Indeed, we shall feast on Sweet Potato Casserole for dinner tonight using, of course, Oh She Glow’s vegan recipe.  What would I do without Oh She Glows as a constant source of inspiration?

I was feeling uber-confident in my culinary skills because I didn’t even use a measuring cup to make this!  This confidence was ultimately misguided, as I think I used too much margarine.  Maybe it was karma biting me in the arse for using non-vegan margarine?  Something tells me that the vegan karma gods are too nice for that, though.

Pre-baked

Finally, I show you the requisite picture of me and/or Henry (this time you get both!)

I really don’t like my hair in this photo, but at least my face colour matches my neck colour.

Also, Henry is very cute.  He has nice hair AND matching face/neck colour.

************************************************************

Ok, this is a bit off topic, but I was wondering: do you drink tap water? We use a Brita water filter and it is grossly overdue for a change, so I’ve been drinking tap water in the meantime.  Even though the taste is a bit metallic, I don’t mind tap water at all and would just go back to using it full-time if it weren’t for my husband and his delicate taste buds.  I know most households use Brita or bottled water for their daily consumption and I was wondering if this was really necessary.  Canadian and U.S. tap water is thoroughly cleaned and tested constantly.  When we were kids, we all drank tap water!  None of this Jennifer Aniston Smart water or imported Fijian water for us!  And we turned out fine (kind of).  Do you think filtered water is even necessary? Do you honestly hate the taste of tap water or do you think that the need to filter water/buy bottled is a creation of clever marketing companies?

This is your thought-provoking question for this Friday afternoon!

February 11, 2011 at 2:27 pm 17 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28