Archive for February 9, 2011

A Day of Vegan Eating

I was feeling camera iPhone happy today and took a bunch of pictures of the food that I ate.  This vegan thing has got me doing crazy things!  Blame all the soy products!

Since Henry is asleep, I thought I’d take this opportunity to not do laundry and instead write another blog entry!  Clearly I have got this Stay-At-Home-Mom thing down pat.

The big event of the day was a new recipe I tried called Curried Lentil and Apricot Soup.  I come across plenty of vegan recipes that call for curry powder, but not too many that also require dried apricots.  I knew I had to make this, especially since it also calls for coconut milk.  Dried apricots + coconut milk = 🙂

Curried Lentil and Apricot Soup

2 Tablespoons of vegetable oil

2 onions, diced

8 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 Tablespoon of ginger powder

1 Tablespoons of mild curry powder

1 tomato, chopped

1 cup dried apricots, chopped

2 cups red lentils, rinsed

8 cups of water

3/4 cup coconut milk

Chopped cilantro for garnish

1.  In a large pot over medium heat, cook onions in vegetable oil for about 10 minutes (stir frequently!)

2.  Reduce heat to medium-low, and add garlic and ginger.  Cook and stir for two minutes.  Add curry powder and stir for one more minute.

3.  Add tomato, apricots, lentils and water.

4.  Raise heat to high until boiling and then reduce to simmer for 30 minutes.

5.  Using an immersion blender or a food processor, puree soup.  Since I like my soup to have texture, I pureed about half of the soup.

6.  Return soup to pot over low heat and stir in coconut milk.  Ladle soup into bowls and garnish with cilantro.

This soup is so good the sun came out to greet it

What I love about this soup:

– The tiny chunks of juicy dried apricots

–  COCONUT MILK!!!

–  Does not require vegetable broth, thus the sodium content is low

–  Lentils make this soup incredibly nutritious and filling.  I had it for both lunch and dinner!

Here are some other things I ate today.  I believe I photographed everything except for the two Maple Walnut cookies I had after lunch!  For breakfast, I had the Carrot Cake Oatmeal as previously noted earlier.

A handful of trail mix with a clementine

A free sample of Vanilla Rooibos tea which I promptly poured down the sink after two sips (not a fan of herbal teas yet I keep trying them, hoping my taste buds will change!)

Green Monster made with 1 cup almond milk, 1/2 banana, 4 frozen strawberries, 1 large handful of baby spinach

Two Frosty No-Bake Glo Cakes!

I highly recommend trying the No-Bake Glo Cakes.  This isn’t the best time of year for consuming frozen edibles (since we are currently living in a frozen edible!), but this healthy alternative to ice cream is surprisingly delicious.  Since I don’t have rice crisp cereal, I substituted All-Bran.  Yes!  A dessert that contains All-Bran is a dessert worth mentioning.  Recommendation:  Go heavy on the peanut butter.

You would think that all of this nutritious, delicious food would fuel my determination to do laundry.  Think again…:)

February 9, 2011 at 9:15 pm 7 comments

Vegan Eating: Day Three

I believe that my Henry is in the midst of a growth spurt because he has been one major crankball lately!  It is exhausting, because the main activity that will appease him is singing and bouncing (I will not tell you how many times I have sung “twinkle twinkle little star”.  More than any person should!).  He is hungry, too, but is wailing too much to latch on!  It’s very frustrating for me.  I read that when a mother hears her baby cry, she releases hormones that make her feel very uncomfortable.  I am glad to know this because I was wondering why I was finding it so upsetting.  I mean, babies cry all the time, right?  I should just accept it and not get so worked up, y’know?

Another thing that helped him stop fussing is by showing him pictures of my Glamour magazine!  He LOVES to be read to, but I needed a change from the usual nursery rhymes and fairy tale books.  Henry now knows that bold stripes are a must for Spring 2011!

Henry says, “fleece sleepers are a definite DO”

Fussiness aside, I have not given up on my Week of Vegan Eating (WoVE).  The Triple Fudge Cake would be a comforting antidote to all this crying, but I am resisting it somehow!  Will power of steel I guess!  (Yeah, right).

For dinner last night, I used up some Vegan Walnut Lentil Pile leftovers by mushing them on a thin burger bun…

Topping it with sliced tomato…

And then adding half of a sliced avocado and a sprinkle of pepper.

This was a great, easy way to use up leftovers!

For breakfast this morning, I made the famous Carrot Cake Oatmeal (lacking coconut cream, and cutting down on the maple syrup and walnuts).

I’m not having any problem fixing meals for myself, but it’s the snacks that I’m lacking!  I guess when I was preparing for my WoVE, I seriously undervalued my love of snacking!  It is a physiological necessity for me to have something sweet, preferably chocolate, after dinner.  I’ve been relying on a small bowl of semi-sweet chocolate chips to tide me over, but I’d much prefer some better-quality chocolate.  Perhaps I’ll get the chance to run to the grocery store today to stock up on various snacking items.  It looks to be a beautiful, sunny day, but the radio tells me its frigid.  What matters more:  Vegan snacks or not freezing my keister off?  Hmmm…that’s a tough call…

February 9, 2011 at 8:36 am 6 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28