Archive for February 8, 2011

Vegan Eating: Day Two

Ok, so it got a bit more difficult to eat vegan on Day Two!  Mostly, Henry was a fussybub and I wanted to find consolation in the Triple Fudge cake we have in the fridge, but that was not to be!  I tried to appease my sweet tooth with some dried apricots and semi-sweet chocolate chips but it didn’t quite do the trick.  I went to bed defeated!  However, I was so happy that Henry was asleep that it wasn’t too bad.  In the battle between sweets and sleep, sleep ALWAYS wins (when you have a baby, anyway!).

In “too frugal for one’s own good” news, yesterday I went out to get a haircut after almost a year of going without!  I went to First Choice which is one of those cheap places at which you don’t have to make an appointment.  Because Henry hasn’t accepted a bottle yet, I had only two hours to leave the house before needing to get back.  I made sure to leave once he had consumed lots of milk, so I made a mad dash out (first brushing off all the snow that had accumulated on the car!  Ah, February).  Luckily there wasn’t much of a wait and I liked my hair stylist enough, but not only did she cut my hair unevenly (she did end up fixing it), but she didn’t blow dry it all the way so it massively frizzed up.  I could have done a better job myself!  However, for $19 you can’t really ask for too much!  The cut is decent enough (chin length bob — my favourite!), but I have learned that when one has escaped the house for two precious hours, one is best off going to an actual salon!  This is the lesson for today, mugs and thugs.

For dinner yesterday, I made Vegan Walnut Lentil Loaf except it turned out to be more like a Vegan Walnut Lentil Pile.  I need to try Oh She Glows recipe next time!

 

I had it along with steamed vegetables and a bagel with blackberry jam.  I wanted margarine (or butter!) on my bagel, but regular margarine isn’t vegan!  I need to get some Earth Balance.  The blackberry jam was still good and served as dessert as well!  (I will admit that blackberry jam, as good as it is, is no Triple Fudge cake!).

For breakfast this morning, I made some Apple Oatmeal!

1/2 cup soymilk

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 apple, diced

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 small handful of raisins

1 sprinkling of shredded coconut

This was wonderful!  It was very chunky because the apple was so large, but creamy too.  I didn’t add anything to sweeten it, but it would be great drizzled with some maple syrup.

Aside from Triple Fudge cake cravings (wow, the third time I’ve mentioned it — what does that tell you?!!?), I feel pretty good with my vegan diet heading into Day Three.  Without getting too TMI, from a digestive standpoint the results have been immediate ifyouknowwhatI’msaying.  Henry was extremely fussy yesterday evening, but slept well (up every 2.5 hours but fell back to sleep immediately and didn’t wake up crying this morning!).  So we shall see how it goes today…

February 8, 2011 at 8:55 am 11 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28