Archive for February 7, 2011

Vegan Eating: Day One

Given that it was Super Bowl Sunday and a certain someone decided to buy all of my favourite cheese-flavoured snacks (including Smart Food and Doritos!), I am proud to say that I made it through Day One of my experiment with veganism!  I am so glad I made that Edamame Black Bean salad on Friday because I’ve been having it for lunches (I even finished it off for breakfast today!).

I added spinach to bulk it up!

While I stuck to spaghetti with tomato sauce and veggie ground round, Hubby partook in his annual tradition of barbecuing chicken wings in anticipation for the evening’s sporting event.  Did I mention we live in Canada?

View through the window because no way was I going outside yesterday!

I knew that I needed to prepare myself with vegan snacks or else the temptation to eat artificially-flavoured cheese products would ultimately overcome me, so I decided to bake the Maple Walnut cookies from the awesome cookbook Vegan with a Vengeance.  I don’t feel right copying down the recipe here, but if you click the link you will find that someone else did it for me 🙂

I’ve had this cookbook for years and have always wanted to try this recipe, but I never owned Maple Extract.  I was at the Bulk Barn last week and saw it for about $3 so I bought it without blinking an eye.  It smells delicious!  Has anyone ever thought about making maple-scented perfume?  It could be called Canadiana and the bottle could be covered in a little plaid shirt like a lumber jack.  Instant best seller, no?

As I am wont to do, these cookies were slightly under-baked, i.e. totally chewy and delicious.  I froze half the batch and put out the rest for a few people that stopped by and they were polished off by the end of the night.  I think I had four altogether.

So we shall see how Day Two pans out.  Of course I will keep you posted!

Henry says that the hand-knit “Storm Trooper” toque is the look for Spring 2011

February 7, 2011 at 9:59 am 12 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28