Archive for February 6, 2011

Vegan Week Starts Now

This morning I realized that next Sunday we are having dinner at the in-laws.  I don’t want my “Week of Vegan Eating” to be compromised at all, and I surely don’t want to inconvenience my in-laws, so I decided to start my WoVE today!  Thankfully, yesterday I polished off the milk chocolate-covered almonds we’ve had kicking around the kitchen, so I shouldn’t be tempted by too much dairy-infused deliciousness.

Although I’ve only been up for two hours, I’ve already had to make two conscious choices not to consume animal products.  The first was no cream in my  morning coffee.  Horrors!

Surprisingly, this wasn’t as bad as I thought.  I figured I could use coconut milk or soy milk, but it wasn’t necessary.  For Christmas, I received a GIANT bag of Starbucks whole bean coffee.  I grind them fresh every morning, so I’m lucky enough to have a pretty decent cup of coffee.  I would like to try coconut milk in my coffee, though.  That sounds exotic, like something they do in Hawaii.  (That’s about as close as I will be getting to Hawaii anytime soon!)

The second decision I had to make was to deny my husband’s offer of making me french toast!  One of his culinary specialties involves making fresh toast, then smearing it with that MaraNatha Dark Chocolate Peanut spread, and then topping it all with freshly cut fruit and maple syrup.  Doesn’t that sound divine?!!?  But I can’t have the eggs or the milk involved in that, so it was just some No-Knead Walnut Raisin bread smeared with cherry jam for me!

I also had some clementines.

I’m kind of glad we aren’t going to any Super Bowl parties today or else the temptation to eat cheese-flavoured Doritos or eat vegetables with creamy dips may be too much to bear.  I am really excited about my WoVE.  A whole week without cheese will be a true test of wills!

February 6, 2011 at 10:48 am 6 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28