Archive for February 4, 2011

Apple Cake Oatmeal

I had three rotting apples in my fridge and I didn’t know what to do with them.  Three apples isn’t enough to bake with but I surely wasn’t going to eat them plain (nothing like taking a bite out of a mushy, bruised apple to turn you off them forever!), so I thought I’d sliced one up and put it in oatmeal for breakfast this morning.  I followed the Carrot Cake Oatmeal recipe, but made the following substitutions:

–  1 diced apple instead of 1 grated carrot

– 1/2 cup of apple juice/1/2 cup of almond milk instead of 1 cup of almond milk

– No coconut cream, shredded coconut, or raisins

–  1 tablespoon each of maple syrup and walnuts instead of two

I probably didn’t even need the maple syrup since the apple juice really sweetened this up.  It was delicious!

I think I am now converted and will never cook oatmeal in plain, old, boring water ever again!

I am also now totally addicted to almond milk.  When grocery shopping yesterday, I compared the nutritional value of almond milk to soy and rice milks and no wonder it is so popular.  1 cup of almond milk is 40 calories.  1 cup of soy or rice is 130 calories!  I didn’t check the other nutritional stats like vitamin content or protein, though.

I am looking forward to my week of vegan eating (scheduled for February 7th to 13th!).  One thing I am interested in seeing is how it affects Henry!  Since Tuesday and Wednesday nights were so awful, I was doing a bit of research about sleep issues with infants, and I read how a breast-feeding mother’s dairy milk consumption can result in digestive issues for baby  and cause interrupted sleep.  Also, Henry has a small patch of red skin around his bum hole (TMI!) and I read that this can be a symptom too.  Yesterday I only consumed almond milk and last night was much better.  So who knows?  If I do notice his sleep is affected by dairy, you can bet your bottom dollar I will be swearing off cow’s milk.  I love milk and yogurt, but I love sleep much, much more!

*************************************************************

Today should be filled with some good eating!  Along with the Apple Cake oatmeal, I’ve also got a loaf of Walnut Raisin No-Knead bread on the go and I’m planning on making an Edamame and Black bean salad using a cilantro-lime dressing.  This was one of the recipes I was hoping to make during my Vegan Week, but I don’t think my cilantro will stay fresh long enough.  This is why it’s such a pain to buy fresh herbs!  Almost always, I just need a small amount for a recipe and the rest ends up rotting in my fridge.  Or I buy the fresh herbs a few days before I require them, and they turn bad before I get to use them.  Any suggestions on how to fix this problem?  If only you could buy fresh herbs by the pound like you can with dried herbs!

 

February 4, 2011 at 8:50 am 12 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28