February 3, 2011 at 4:13 pm 4 comments

Day One of “Have a Green Monster Every Day of February” was a giant bust!  I thought it’d be a tasty experiment to add half of a fresh avocado to my usual mixture of milk, banana, spinach, and fruit.  Was I ever wrong!  It tasted kind of like drinking guacamole.  It was nasty, and I dumped most of it down the drain!  I hope this isn’t a sign of more failed goals.  Eek!

How can something so right taste so wrong?

Yesterday was a tough day in the world of motherhood.  Henry has a bit of a cold (every time we hang out with my friends he catches one!) and I think he is in a growing spurt.  He has been whipping out his loud, piercing wail of a cry much more frequently.  And the tried and true method of offering him food to soothe him has not been working.  So pardon the lack of entry yesterday as I was too busy gouging out my eyeballs.

I’ve also been feeling the winter blues, even though today is sunny.  Thankfully Mr. Groundhog did not see his shadow!  If he did, I’d have to find another body part to gouge.

I did the grocery shopping today and picked up some things I will need for my Week of Veganism, commencing on Monday.  I got some soy milk, almond milk, lentils, and various fruits and vegetables.  I am excited, but also nervous.  I don’t think I’ve ever experienced a week without cheese before.  For lunner (lunch + dinner; a common occurrence for us since Hubby works nights), I made minestrone soup using cheese tortellini instead of macaroni.  Delicious!

When not eating cheese or gouging out my eyes, I’ve been reading Freedom by Jonathan Franzen and it is awesome.  I can’t remember the last novel I read and I forgot how much I love to read fiction.  I know, even English Majors can forget this!  So often, it’s easier on the mind to just watch TV or peruse the Internet, but sinking my teeth into a good novel is as good as sinking my teeth into a(n) (avocado-free) Green Monster!

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy February! Apple Cake Oatmeal

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  February 3, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    “I hope this isn’t a sign of more failed goals. Eek!”

    but wasn’t your resolution to fail? so aren’t you in a sense achieving your resolution?

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 3, 2011 at 7:56 pm

      You are right! Excellent, nothing to worry about then. Thanks! lol

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  February 4, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    i hope his sleeping gets better. and you catch up on yours!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 4, 2011 at 9:22 pm

      It seemed to improve last night so fingers crossed this becomes the new normal!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

