January Goals

January 31, 2011 at 8:51 am 8 comments

And so we meet on the last day of January!  Starting this month, I decided to give myself a list of goals to accomplish.  My goal is to create a list like this each month of 2011 and try to accomplish some mini-goals.  2011 is all about goals, I guess!  Fitting, since my 2011 resolution is to fail!  🙂

Here is January’s list which I kept posted to my bedroom mirror:

Overall, I think I did pretty well in accomplishing these goals.  Having this list in my face each day was a definite motivating factor.

1.  Lose 2 pounds

I received a scale for Christmas (nothing says holly jolly like a quantitative measure of your body weight!) and have weighed myself sporadically throughout the month.  I haven’t owned a scale in years and was surprised by how much weight fluctuates.  You could really drive yourself crazy with this thing!

My weight at the start of the month was 180 pounds.  Now I am going to go weight myself.  Caveat:  I am wearing lightweight pajamas and have a bowl of cereal and two clementines in my stomach.  It is very important that you know this information.

Ok, the verdict is in: 177 pounds!  Truly this accomplishment can be entirely credited to nursing, as well as my son the personal trainer (aka “squat nazi”).

2.  Write in blog every day

Aside from one day, I did accomplish this goal!  And that day I didn’t post was followed by a day that I posted twice so pat on the ol’ back for me!

I am not sure where I want to take this blog.  I do have dreams of becoming independently wealthy off of it, but I’m not sure that will happen when it receives only 36 page views on a day like yesterday.  Wamp Waaaaaammmppppp.

A lot of the time, I did not want to write an entry, but I did because of this goal.  Afterward, I felt great.  Kind of like not wanting to work out but then feeling wonderful after you finally do, y’know?  I am not going to set a goal like this for February so we’ll see how that affects the number of times I write.  See you in March!  Haha.

3.  Get Etsy shop up and running

I don’t know if you know this about me, but I like to crochet square and rectangular-shaped objects.  Scarves, purses, blankets — you name it!  If it’s a square or a rectangular, I will crochet it!  One of my favourite things to crochet are dishcloths using 100% cotton yarn.  I can finish one of these up in 30 minutes or so and it’s a great way to keep my hands busy while watching television (instead of eating large quantities of potato chips!).

I decided to start an Etsy shop because I was beginning to swim underneath all of the dishcloths I was producing.  Of course, I have not sold any, but I only have two items in my shop.  I invite you to take a look at my handiwork!

http://www.etsy.com/shop/LoopyLoos

I hope to put more of these cloths up soon, perhaps in quantities of 5 or 10.  Oh yeah, baby, I am dreaming big!  The sky’s the limit when it comes to crocheted, cotton dish cloths!

4.  Take multivitamin and fish oil every day

I know that keeping this list of goals substantially influenced this achievement.  Since having Henry, my routine had been out of sorts and I no longer automatically took my vitamin and fish oil after eating breakfast and before going to work.  I felt bad since Henry benefits from the vitamin and fish oil (apparently fish oil is going to make him a genius!  Score!), so I am really glad I’ve re-introduced this habit into my modge podge of a routine.  You’re welcome, Henry.

5.  Establish regular exercise routine

Oh yes, I established a regular exercise routine and even wrote it down!  However, I have not been very good at completing it on a regular basis.  Oops!  I have been doing more sit-ups and try to do some low-impact aerobics while watching television, but that’s about as far as my cardiovascular endeavors have taken me.  With this goal, it’s safe to say I did not achieve it.  Boo-urns.

6.  Maintain budget spreadsheet

This goal was easy to accomplish because I hardly spent any money.  This “housebound with baby” thing is good for something!  I use a spreadsheet using Google Documents and recommend it.  If I were to go on vacation for  a week or even spend a day out of the house, I’m able to access my spreadsheet from any location which makes the likelihood of me maintaining it much greater.

So there you have it!  The monthly goal rundown.  Tomorrow I will post my list for February.  I imagine that at least one of February’s goals will involve consumption of heart-shaped chocolates.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Baby-o-rama Happy February!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  January 31, 2011 at 9:20 am

    I’m the same with knitting! If it’s a square or rectangle, I’ll knit it. Sadly, however, since school started I haven’t knit a damned thing. I realized last week that I missed it! Learning to knit and cross-stitch helped me to start losing weight!

    And you’ve inspired me to make a blog goal of my own. I haven’t had much time over the last couple of weeks due to school but I did have the time to do something short and sweet, I just didn’t bother!

    Cheers to February! Let’s make it rock!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 31, 2011 at 4:28 pm

      Yeah, the blog goal really kept me on track to the point where I would write short entries (like yesterday’s) that I wouldn’t otherwise.

      To February!

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  January 31, 2011 at 9:20 am

    WTG on keeping up with your goals, what a great idea!

    Reply
  • 5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun)  |  January 31, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I love your goals. They are seriously almost a mirror image of mine. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Dolores  |  January 31, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    Congrats on meeting your January goals!

    Fish oil is on my list of healthy supplements I don’t want to, but will most likely have to, take.

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 1, 2011 at 8:13 am

      I started taking fish oil when I was pregnant because Dr. Oz, that all-knowing being, said it helps with fetal brain development. I’ve continued since Henry still gets his nutrition from me. But it was a tough choice to make! Sometimes I wonder if I’d like to try fish, especially salmon, but I haven’t got to that point yet!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

