Sleep would be nice, but muffins will suffice!

January 21, 2011 at 10:07 am 14 comments

I write to you from Exhaustion Headquarters where our CEO, Mr. Henry, had me up EVERY.  SINGLE.  HOUR.  OF.  THE.  NIGHT.

I don’t think I have ever seen every hour of the nighttime clock before, so maybe I should be thankful to Mr. H for giving me this once in a lifetime opportunity?  Let’s go with that (and let us pray it really is a ONCE in a lifetime opportunity!).

He will rob you of sleep and sanity using his overwhelming power of cuteness!

If this is what normal parenthood is all about, I am really surprised my parents decided to have me, a second child, after my brother.  And to think that if I lived in America, I’d have to go back to work in a couple of weeks!  Oh my.

But enough venting on the blog.  You don’t need to hear it.  That’s what husbands are for!  Today I would like to share with you a recipe for Date muffins!  I picked up a bag of dates on sale at Bulk Barn but they aren’t the soft and chewy Medjool dates that are delicious to eat on their own.  These are the cheapo, tough dates that are sticky and hard.  They must be used for baking purposes!

I chose this recipe because it called for a lot of oat bran rather than just flour.  Oat bran contains a lot of fibre and lowers bad cholesterol, so I figured that would help counteract all of the sugar!

DELECTABLE DATE MUFFINS

Makes 10 big muffins

(Muffins with dates, not muffins you take on dates.  Unless you really want to).

1 cup chopped dates

1 cup hot water

1 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 egg

1 tablespoon oil

1 1/2 cups oat bran

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup sour milk or buttermilk (I use one cup of regular milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice added)

1.  Mix dates, hot water, 1/2 cup of the brown sugar and lemon juice in a medium-sized saucepan and simmer until thickened.

2.  Measure remaining brown sugar, egg, oil, and date filling into one bowl.  Beat vigorously until smooth and then add bran.

3.  Add flour, baking soda, and then milk.  Stir only enough to moisten the throughout.

4.  Spoon into muffin cups and let stand for 3 minutes.  This is the runniest muffin batter I have ever made!

5.  Bake at 375 F for 20 minutes.

Two muffins are missing.  Wherever could they be?

*********************************************************

So I’ve been doing a pretty good job living the frugal lifestyle lately.  This is mostly aided by the fact that:

1.  I rarely leave my house because it is January and ccccccold outside.

2.  We only have one car.

3.  I don’t gots nowhere to be!

It’s only been a month since Christmas (seems longer, eh?), but I am kind of coveting this book that recently went on sale:

Reasons Why I Want This Book:

1.  Kris Carr has a rare form of cancer that she documented in the movie Crazy Sexy Cancer.  She is a charming, free spirit who has used nutritious food as a way to fight her illness, both physically and psychologically.

2.  She is the inspiration behind Angela’s famous Green Monster!

3.  I think it would be a fun, inspiring read that can help spice up my own Green Monsters and maybe help me make some healthier choices (she says while sipping her second cup of coffee!).

Reasons Why I Don’t Want This Book:

1.  I’m afraid it’s just another book about veganism (Nothing against veganism, but there are plenty of books on this topic already!).

2.  She is not a doctor.  (However, the awesome doctor, Dean Ornish, writes the foreword.)

3.  She champions a 21 day cleanse.  I am not a fan of cleanses or detox diets and even the idea of them creeps me out a bit.

4.  Do I really want to spend my precious dollars to support the billion-dollar diet industry?!!?

 

I guess I will hold off until I see it in the bookstore (when I leave my house; possibly by 2012?).  That will let me flip through it and then make my decision.  If you have read this book, can you let me know what you think?  Until then, I will continue drinking my (much beloved) coffee and eating my sugar-laden date muffins!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Dusting off the yoga mat Sleepy

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  January 21, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Oh you poor woman! I hope you get a chance to sneak in a nap today! You’ve earned it!

    I’m not a fan of detoxes or cleanses either. Your body itself is a natural detox machine, treat your body right and it’ll do the work for you! But maybe add it to a wish list for a future gift?

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 21, 2011 at 3:17 pm

      I am going to definitely add it to my wish list, and put a hold on it with the library. I don’t know why I did think of the library option sooner! If I love it enough, then perhaps that will merit buying it 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  January 21, 2011 at 11:13 am

    nice muffins! hope you can sneak a nap today. henry is a silly boy! what did he have to do that was so important to be up all night? bree was up till 1230am, maybe there was something in the air?

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 21, 2011 at 3:17 pm

      He is sleeping the day away today. You’d think this will signal me to do the same, but no. Here I am, at the computer! Lord help me 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Roberta  |  January 21, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Hey love your blog. I bought the book and like all books of this nature you tail it to you as an individual and take only what you want out of it. I am not a fan of detoxes or cleanses but there are a lot of good points in the book, good reciepes and also makes you think about what your putting in your body. I would reccommend you place it on a Future gift list for sure.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 21, 2011 at 3:18 pm

      The recipes are what intrigue me the most. Thanks for the mini review! 🙂 It will definitely be going on a future gift list!

      Reply
  • 7. Angie  |  January 21, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I am very surprised you didn’t think of the library sooner!

    If the muffins are made of dates, but not meant to be taken on dates, could one possibly DATE the muffins? (heh heh. sorry. I can’t help myself)

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 21, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      Since it now takes me months to read a book it used to take me days to read, the library is just not a viable option anymore. Weak, I know!

      These muffins are so tasty, they deserve to be dated!

      Reply
  • 11. echoingmetaphor  |  January 21, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Costco is my go-to source for buying books these days, so if I come across it there I will probably flip through and decide whether or not to buy depending on content/recipes/price. I have been interested in it for a little while!

    Those muffins look good! I have some of those bulk barn dates sitting in my pantry, if they’re still good I might have to whip up a batch of these.

    Reply
    • 12. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 23, 2011 at 6:49 pm

      Ooh, if it’s at Costco I bet it’s pretty cheap! Keep me posted 🙂

      Reply
  • 13. Lynn  |  January 22, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    Wow, Robyn . . . that is severely interrupted sleep. I’m eager to hear how the following night went.

    Reply
    • 14. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 23, 2011 at 6:50 pm

      The following night was tough, but last night was much better! I guess it’s continually unpredictable, eh?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

