Dusting off the yoga mat

January 20, 2011 at 10:19 am 9 comments

“Dusting off the yoga mat” is not just a figure of speech to convey that it’s been a long time since I’ve worked out.  No, I literally had to dust off my yoga mat because it has been so long since I voluntarily exercised.  Terrible, I know!  But now it is dusted off and I am ready to become Jennifer Aniston’s body double any minute now.

I brought up my 5 pound weights from the basement, along with the yoga mat, and gave them a place in my living room that can’t be ignored.  I will see them every day, which greatly increases the probability that I will use them every day.  That’s how it works, right?

Weights, yoga mat, vase

I wrote out an easy, quick exercise routine that I can do while Henry is swinging away, or bouncing away, or basically not relying on any part of my body for amusement or satisfaction.  Today he was swinging away.

“What is she doing?  Why is she bending over like that?  WHY ISN’T SHE HOLDING ME?!?!”

I never know how to describe the different exercises.  Luckily, I am not a personal trainer, so I can just use whatever phrase that makes the most sense.  Sideways shoulder lifts anyone??

Since writing this out, I have completed the routine a whopping TWO times, but that is better than no times, right?  On a day like today, when Hubby has to leave for work earlier than usual which means the likelihood of me getting out for a walk is slim, it’s nice to be able to do this little routine without worrying about leaving the house.  I am sure that being mistaken for Jennifer Aniston is just around the corner.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Moroccan Chickpea Stew Sleep would be nice, but muffins will suffice!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  January 20, 2011 at 11:50 am

    cute pic of henry! he looks like his daddy in that picture… especially when daddy wears his fleece pjs like that… 🙂

    side shoulder raises is good, but my personal favourite is “20 punches”. lol

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 20, 2011 at 12:56 pm

      Mommy wouldn’t mind a pair of fleece pjs like this, although that is dangerously close to “forever lazy’ territory!

      The punches are practice for when Jim Lee next leaves a derogatory comment on my blog!

      Reply
      • 3. Sarah  |  January 20, 2011 at 1:08 pm

        oooohh watch out jim lee! you’ve been warned! LOL

  • 4. Kim  |  January 20, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Omg Henry’s expression in that picture is too precious!

    Reply
    • 5. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 20, 2011 at 3:29 pm

      I think he really was wondering what the heck I was doing!

      Reply
  • 6. Erika  |  January 21, 2011 at 1:47 am

    way to go with the work out routine. it sounds like too much work to me! lol henry is so handsome! xo

    Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 21, 2011 at 3:15 pm

      If I were 38 weeks pregnant too, the last thing I would be thinking about is an exercise routine! 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Ashley  |  January 21, 2011 at 11:38 am

    There are many great stretches and routines for Yoga and Pilates at http://www.selftrainermat.com

    I love how easy they make it to stay focused on my daily routine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

