Moroccan Chickpea Stew

January 19, 2011 at 2:12 pm 4 comments

Last night was one of those nights when I thought, “Hmmm…Henry being an only child wouldn’t be so bad”.  I love my wee man, but I also love sleep!  Ah, motherhood <– My new favourite sentence said with just the right amount of exasperation and adoration.

Daddy was home to help with bath time and we had some fun with strategically placed cloths.  Ah, motherhood 😉

A cup of coffee this morning helped, as it so often does, but I was most helped by half an hour of brisk walking outside as well as some healthy food!  For lunch I had a green salad and a couple of slices of leftover pizza.

A bunch of green vegetables, topped with chickpeas, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and freshly ground pepper.  Wonderful!

Primavera pizza with zucchini, spinach, red pepper, mushrooms, and parmesan

Since the wee man is currently asleep, I thought I’d get a head start on dinner.  I purchased a head of cauliflower last week for $1 and needed to use it up before it turned brown.  I don’t usually add cauliflower to my salads because I find them a pain to cut.  I don’t mind cutting up the entire head at once, though.  Ok, I just realized I could cut up the entire head and then keep the bits in tupperware and use as needed on salads.  Why didn’t I think of that before?

Anyway, I decided to make Moroccan Chickpea Stew.  This is adapted from a recipe I have called Moroccan Vegetable Pie with Chickpea Crust.  The pie is delicious, but a lot of extra work (and butter) to create the crust.  Serving the stew over rice, quinoa or barley (tonight’s choice!) is a bit healthier.

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 each onion and carrot, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 tsp each of ground coriander, ground cumin, and pepper

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 large green pepper, diced

1 head of cauliflower, chopped into small florets

1 cup rinsed, drained canned chickpeas

1 cup tomato sauce

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 tablespoons of almond or peanut butter

1.  In a large saucepan, heat oil over medium heat; fry onion, carrot, garlic, cinnamon, coriander, cumin, pepper and cayenne, stirring often, until softened, about five minutes.

2.  Add pepper, cauliflower and chickpeas; fry, stirring often, until pepper is softened, about 8 minutes.

3.  Add pasta sauce and lemon juice; cover and simmer over low heat for 20 minutes.  Stir in peas and almond/peanut butter.  Serve over grain of your choice!

Delicious!  The nut butter really makes this one.

Well, I suppose I should remove myself from the Internet and go spend some time with my kid, eh?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

2.72 Kilograms of Strawberries Dusting off the yoga mat

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  January 19, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    whenever you say “wee man” it makes me think of jackass…lol

    is henry wearing that bath cap so he doesn’t get his hair wet? 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 19, 2011 at 9:17 pm

      I picked up “wee man” from Iain’s mom, but now that we’ve made that association, I don’t think I will keep up with it! lol I’ve seen too many of the Jackass movies for my own good!

      Do you like Henry’s look? Tres chic, no?

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  January 21, 2011 at 1:49 am

    love the tub look on henry. he is beyond cute! that stew looked amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

