2.72 Kilograms of Strawberries

January 18, 2011 at 11:45 am 10 comments

We have returned from Costco!  I really wanted to take a picture of our bounty, but it is now all packed away in the basement and the freezer, so you will just have to take my word for it.  We really stocked up.  I am mostly excited by the $6 giant jar of Maranatha Almond Butter, as well as the giant bags of almonds and walnuts.  I also picked up a 12-pack of Larabars and 2.72 kilograms of frozen strawberries for Green Monster-creating purposes.

Pineapple for size comparison purposes.

*********************************************************

Other than that, not much is really going on!  Since we were away from home all day yesterday, I will likely spend today just doing chores when I can and trying to keep the wee man entertained.  Maybe I will even be able to sneak out for another half hour walk?  It is above freezing today which should definitely be taken advantage of!

Lately I have been thinking about the sheer amount of time I spend online.  With this blog, emails, Google Reader, Livejournal, and Facebook, along with the all-important world of celebrity gossip blogs (so addictive like candy, with similar results!), I wonder what life would be like with no Internet connection at all.  I contemplate doing an experiment where I limit my online time to something like 10 minutes a day, or maybe even spend a week disconnected entirely.  What would that be like?  I think it would be lonely for one.  I wonder, though, how I would spend that extra time?  Would I cook more, read more, or spend more time with Henry?  Would I appreciate the phone more, or make an effort to do more visiting in person?  This sounds like a good goal for February…

*********************************************************

Well, it is time to go make a Green Monster using some of my 2.72 kilograms of strawberries!  I wonder how many GM’s I can get out of that huge bag?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Coffee. Stat. Moroccan Chickpea Stew

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mel  |  January 18, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    I would definitely be lonely without the internet. I love my kids but they are not the best conversationalists 😛 This goal would be a lot easier in the summer months, that’s for sure!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 19, 2011 at 8:19 am

      I think so too! I think my immediate goal will just be to cut down.

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  January 18, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    if you didn’t update this site, what would i read at work?

    Reply
  • 5. Sarah  |  January 18, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    you must be putting this “non-internetting” plan into action, you have not responded to either of our posts!! 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 19, 2011 at 8:20 am

      Ha! I do most of my Internetting during the day. At night, we are rightly planted in front of the TV! lol

      Reply
  • 7. Lynn  |  January 19, 2011 at 7:18 am

    Rather than focus on denying yourself, you could think about the other things you want to do, like read a good book and then reward yourself for accomplishing that with some on-line time.

    When I was a new mom, I found that reading short stories was more realistic than reading novels. Doris Lessing’s short stories set in Africa are highly recommended. One of her short story books is AFRICAN COLLECTIONS.

    You could set a goal to replace celebrity gossip time with reading time. Setting realistic goals will make it easier to develop good habits.

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 19, 2011 at 8:21 am

      I received Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom for Christmas that I am itching to start, but it is one hefty-sized novel. The only thing preventing me from reading it is the fact I won’t be able to hold it while simultaneously nursing. I think a short story collection is a great idea! I really do need to read some Doris Lessing.

      Reply
  • 9. Erika  |  January 19, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    i was pretty lonely without the internet last spring. but i did get alot more accomplished. spent alot more time with my daughter. was outside alot. and went to the library alot.

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 19, 2011 at 2:24 pm

      I guess it’s all about balance, eh? With that said, it’s time to go spend some time with my boy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

