Coffee. Stat.

January 17, 2011 at 10:20 am 8 comments

Last night I stayed up to watch the entire Golden Globes show, which is something I never got to do during my working years.  Why do they always have these awards shows on Sunday nights?  I don’t think I ever stayed up late enough to watch an entire one.  11:00 pm isn’t all that late, but it is for someone who (used to) get(s) 9 hours of sleep a night.  Henry slept during the last hour of the show, so I once again celebrated by eating too much.  I think I eat too much because I am really tired but want to stay up for the sheer novelty of it.  Husband and I were positively giddy!  It was the first time we had watched TV just the two of us in 2.5 months.  Both of us had full use of our arms and neither of us were forced to do squats.  Amazing!

I was also tired because I worked out yesterday!  Nothing huge — just some calisthenics and then I went for a half hour walk on my own.  It was MARVELOUS.  I am hoping it becomes a regular routine in my life.

Winter is pretty.  Cold, but pretty.

So I am chugging coffee and eating a Starbs pumpkin scone because we have a big adventure today.

So tasty on the tongue; so cement-like in the stomach

We are going to Costco!!!  We don’t have a membership, but my in-laws do, so once a year they take us to Costco and we buy large quantities of tooth paste, laundry detergent, and almond butter, among other detritus, to last us for 6 months or so.  What is it about Costco that makes one spend about 10 times as much as they were planning to?  Target is the same way.  Nevertheless, I am excited!  A day out of the house AND access to gigantic vats of mustard.  I think it’s going to be a good Monday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Lazy Sunday? 2.72 Kilograms of Strawberries

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  January 17, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Ohhh Costco! Have fun! And congrats on getting some “you” time! Awesome!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 18, 2011 at 11:29 am

      Costco is amazing. You should see the bag of frozen strawberries I bought. Insane! lol

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  January 17, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    it’s funny to read what makes you so excited… “full use of both arms”… LOL it makes my life seem absolutely wild in comparison… so, thanks! 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 18, 2011 at 11:30 am

      I joke that my standards for “quality of life” have decreased dramatically. Give me 1/2 an hour alone in the cold, and I am content! On the other hand, I now know the love of a little boy named Henry, and that is pretty spectacular! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Kim  |  January 18, 2011 at 8:17 am

    I love Costco! I go every week at least once and I still spend at least an hour wandering the aisles.

    I can’t remember the last time I watched the Golden Globes, I agree with you, why do they do it on a Sunday? A Saturday would make so much more sense.. although I suppose most people go out that night so there would be not too many people to watch? Idk. I’m kind of sorry I missed this years though, I hear Ricky Gervais pissed off a lot of people!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 18, 2011 at 11:31 am

      Wow, Costco every week?! You are living the dream! lol I am impressed by the almond butter. $6 for a giant jar of maranatha? Amazing!

      Yeah, Ricky Gervais was pretty crass. I enjoyed it sitting from afar, but I can imagine he hurt a lot of people’s feelings.

      Reply
  • 7. Erika  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:57 am

    that scone looks awesome! we have a starbucks right around the corner, but i have yet to go there… its super overpriced, but i can bet its worth it!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 18, 2011 at 11:32 am

      I agree that Starbucks is too expensive when it comes to lattes and fancy drinks, but their coffee is $2 and is SO MUCH BETTER than Tim’s. The scone is around the $2 mark too, and very worth it — although does feel leaden in the stomach!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

