Lazy Sunday?

January 16, 2011 at 9:47 am 4 comments

I am ready for a lazy Sunday.  I’ve got the newspaper (actually yesterday’s too.  I never got around to reading it!), a mug of coffee, a bowl of Breakfast Quinoa, and one sleeping baby (fingers crossed he remains as such).

********************************************************

One of my goals for January was to start a small exercise routine.  Because of the weather and my unpredictable schedule, I was thinking more along the lines of calisthenics rather than aerobic exercise.  When exercising, I always think of my body in three parts:  Arms, stomach, and legs.  My arms are getting an awesome workout these days because one of Henry’s favourite activities is being lifted up-and-down, over-and-over.  At 12 pounds+, my guns should rival Arnold’s in no time.

He is going to pump – *clap* – you up!

My legs get a bit of a workout because another one of Henry’s favourite activities is, as you know, being held by someone doing squats (he’s my little Jillian Michaels!).  As he’s gotten older, he doesn’t demand this as much, but I still do a lot of bouncing.  Some days, it feels like that’s all I do!

My stomach, however, is a completely neglected body part.  While playing with Henry in his bouncy chair, I’ll sometimes do a quick set of 50 crunches, but this is far from a regular routine.  I am going to try to create some sort of 5 minute circuit routine using arms, legs, and stomach that can be done whenever I have a spare moment.  I could even try incorporating Henry into this routine.   I’ll let you know how it goes!

********************************************************

Well there are two newspapers and one couch with my name on it.  Happy Sunday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Cop out? Coffee. Stat.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jaredblakedicroce  |  January 16, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Happy sunday.
    The little’un will undoubtedly pick up on all your little good exercises, and file them away at the back of his mind unbeknownst to him/you, only to reemerge again when he’s an adult, and has good fitness because of you 🙂

    enjoy the relaxation, you’ve earned it!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 17, 2011 at 10:08 am

      Well when you put it that way, I should have no problem motivating myself! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  January 16, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    you should get one of those dvds/books with 10 minutes workouts… i have a weights workout dvd divided into 15 min sections for upper body, lower body and abs. i also know that my mom has a book with exercises you do for 10 mins a day…you could probably find it at the library. if i remember next time i’m there i’ll find out name for you.

    when henry grows up and is a personal trainer, will i get a friend discount?

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 17, 2011 at 10:10 am

      I wrote out a little workout on a sheet of paper and will try to do it once a day. I used to work out in the evenings while watching TV, but now I can do it whenever I get the chance!

      For you, 50% off all personal training sessions!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

