Forever Lazy

January 13, 2011 at 9:44 am 9 comments

Good morning! Once again, I am impressed with myself for blogging this early. I love to write and keeping this blog is a way for me to exercise my writing muscles amongst a sea of diaper changes and dirty dishes, but I always feel a bit anxious until my daily blog entry is written. Weird, eh? By writing this early, I can also spend the rest of the day checking my “site stats” to see how many people have read my words. Thankfully, there are usually more than seven πŸ˜‰

Yesterday, I was successful in my attempt to eat real food (Enough with that fake food already!) Having the homemade soup and healthy banana bread kicking around was a big help. I think I need to bake more “healthy” baked goods. Less oil, more applesauce, I say! (You do know that applesauce can substitute for oil in baking? Best discovery ever!).

For breakfast this morning, I had a slice of the healthy banana bread with some homemade cherry jam on top (not homemade by me; homemade in someone else’s home!), along with a fruit salad consisting of orange, pineapple, and grapes.

I will probably get hungry soon since this breakfast is lacking in protein. Maybe I should hard boil some eggs as a preventative measure.

************************************************

While perusing one of my favourite websites yesterday, Jezebel (previously noted as one of my favourite time wasters, too!), I came upon this commercial for an item called — I kid you not — “Forever Lazy”. Take a look:

I thought for sure this was a joke, but I think it’s real. So many things whirl through my mind after watching this:

1. Wall-E

2. The phrase “sad sack of potatoes”

3. George Constanza wanting to dress entirely in velvet

Now I am a huge fan of all things expandable and comfortable, and, in fact, have yet to wear anything other than yoga/stretch/jogging/sweat pants since the birth of Henry, but even I must draw the line somewhere. Do you think we are just kind of “giving up” as a society?

My mom always talks about life in the 1950s and early 1960s. Mind you, things were far from perfect then, but she said they would actually dress up to go out shopping, complete with white gloves and high heels. These days, it’s common to see people wearing pajamas at the grocery store. I am all for doing what makes you happy and not caring what other people think, but something about this “lazy phenomenon” makes me cringe just a wee bit.

What do you think?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Post-Doritos Productivity Breakfast

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  January 13, 2011 at 10:05 am

    Agreed! I’m all for individual expression and non-comformity but have some dignity people! PJ’s are not street clothes, they’re for sleep and lounging about on Christmas Day.

    Besides, when I look good, I feel good!

    And all laziness ever did was make me almost 100lbs heavier than I am now with a dirty house! πŸ˜›

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 13, 2011 at 10:08 am

      I was thinking that if I wore “forever lazy”, I’d probably eat a ton more because there is no tight waist band to “regulate things”, so to speak! It’s funny how in the commercial they pretty much say as much, about how it’s an ideal outfit to wear while grabbing snacks during commercial breaks. Yikes!

      Reply
  • 3. Lynn  |  January 13, 2011 at 10:27 am

    What about Homer Simpson in a mumu?

    Reply
  • 5. Didds  |  January 13, 2011 at 10:36 am

    it’s just a product that is already around, being marketed in a different (poor) way. If you saw these as pajamas in a store, you might think “not my thing” but probably not “oh man, we’re giving up as a society”. Heck even if they marketed it as a bath robe that doesn’t fall open or something.

    I think one key point is this: They aren’t meant to go outside!

    Reply
    • 6. Didds  |  January 13, 2011 at 10:39 am

      (although wearing one to a cold football game is kind of a good idea, but who in their right mind would? Also remember, they are wearing real clothes underneath! This thing is like a fugly blanket in the eyes of the marketers)

      Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 13, 2011 at 12:44 pm

      The name is what turns me off the most. And the butt flap!

      Reply
  • 8. Sarah  |  January 13, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    If I (ok, Jim Lee) spends $100 on a pair of yoga pants, I’m wearing them in public dammit! LOL

    Reply
    • 9. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 13, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      yoga pants are in a category all on their own! (Says the person who has worn nothing but them since November 4th!).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

