Post-Doritos Productivity

January 12, 2011 at 2:00 pm 7 comments

Last night, after writing the post about having no time and Henry doesn’t sleep much and WAAAAAHHHHH…he fell asleep.

In fact, it was the first time since his birth that he was asleep for the night and I was still awake!  How else to celebrate?  By eating half a bag of Jalapeno Popper-flavoured Doritos, of course.  I don’t even like Jalapeno Poppers all that much!

Of course, trying to fall asleep soon after proved to be problematic.  For one, I was stuffed.  For two, I was stuffed full of chemically-laden corn chips.  I eventually fell asleep, but I vowed to myself that I would eat much healthier the next day.  Not only that, but I’d eat real food.

For breakfast, I had some cut up pineapple, grapes, and banana, with a bit of plain non-fat yogurt and a few squares of Shredded Wheat on top.  For lunch, I had a garden salad.  Then I decided to get creative.  Today’s creativity brought to you “Henry napping” 😉

We have a bunch of bananas kicking around so I wanted to make some banana bread.  Most of the recipes I have aren’t very healthy.  I have one that calls for chocolate chips and mayonnaise for heaven’s sake! (It is really delicious, as you could probably deduce on your own).  But I opted to make HEALTHY banana bread.  This means chocolate chips and mayonnaise have nothing to do with it.

I adapted this recipe by making a few changes:

– 1/2 cup of sugar instead of Splenda (I am anti-artificial sweetener)

– 3 bananas instead of 5

– 1/4 cup non-fat plain yogurt instead of sour cream

– 1 egg instead of 2 teaspoons of egg white

Ok, I can explain this picture.  I painted my finger nails for the first time in months and wanted to showcase the goods!  I have been feeling dowdy for, oh, 2 months and 8 days or thereabouts, and nail polish really gave me a pick-me-up!  Behind my ever-so-vain hand, is the banana bread batter patiently waiting for me to stop taking pictures of my hand and to start stirring.

A slice of the finished product:

It is not nearly as good as my chocolate banana bread, but this bread won’t take you one step closer to cardiac arrest, y’know?

***************************************************************

Henry continued to nap once I was finished with the banana bread, so I set my sights towards dinner.  I wanted to make something using a lot of vegetables.  I contemplated veggie pot pie, but I made that fairly recently.  A quick look through my Moosewood Cookbook brought me to this recipe for Curried Spinach Pea Soup.  I wasn’t going to write down the recipe for you folks because of copyright issues and such, but I see that someone else did it for me!

I followed this recipe pretty much to a T.  I was impressed by all of the spices it calls for!  It’s not too often I wield my little jar of cardamom, I will tell you that!  This recipe calls for a lot of chopping — 4 cups of potato, 4 cups of onion, and 8 cloves of garlic — but other than that, and the large ingredient list, it is really easy.  I ended up taking a boat load of pictures because, as stated before, Henry was asleep!  I was feeling adventurous!

I used full-fat coconut milk instead of the reduced-fat it calls for.  (Can I renege my statement about being one step further away from cardiac arrest?)

Spinach:  Not Just For Green Monsters

Peas!  I was surprised to find out how much protein there is in peas.

When cutting up the onion, I kept a piece of bread in my mouth to prevent crying.  It semi-worked.  Do you have a tip for preventing crying while cutting onions?

I love the part of a recipe when it basically says “Mix everything up!”.

Blended and ready to go!

So I’ve not only made dinner for tonight, but I’ve also completed my daily blog entry and it’s only 1:57 pm.  Hurrah!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

No rest for the wicked Forever Lazy

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  January 12, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    Oh man those doritos.. I bought some for my bf a few months back and they were SO bad. The jalapeno ones were ok but the cheeseburger ones were awful!

    I like the color on your nails! Very nice!

    As for onions, I have no idea. I’ve been told that putting the onion in the freezer for 10 minutes works, but I never have 10 minutes. I tend to breathe through my mouth while keeping my nose blocked (does that make sense?!) and it workes for me. On the off-chance I accidentally breathe through my nose, I find that running my hands under ice cold water stops my eyes from watering.

    Good times. That soup sounds great.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 12, 2011 at 7:13 pm

      Oh I tried those cheeseburger ones! They reminded me of a mcdonalds cheeseburger which really throughme off. I used to love those but haven’t had one in the 10 years i’ve been vegetarian. They disturb me!

      I will remember the tip about freezing the onion. Thanks!

      Reply
  • 3. Tiffany  |  January 12, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Hi there! This entry made me laugh so hard I just had to write and say I love your writing style. [And that I’ve been there with the late nite dorito eating pains!] About the onions, if you chop em next to a burner that’s on on your stovetop, it actually does help. I enjoyed my first visit to your blog, I’ll be back. =)
    Craftily T

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 12, 2011 at 7:14 pm

      Thank you! Comments like these are my favourite 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. sarah  |  January 12, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    nice polish colour…. i also like that the picture showcases your rings… lol people don’t take enough pictures of their bling. you can bet that when i get my tiffany’s ring (it’s safe to say this, i don’t think jim lee reads this much anymore) there will be copious amounts of pictures of said ring. 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 12, 2011 at 7:15 pm

      You could start a blog all about the adventures of your ring!

      Reply
  • […] Served with a slice of healthy banana bread! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

