Extreme Couponing

January 7, 2011 at 5:30 pm 14 comments

Ok, so my earnest plan to eat THREE SQUARE MEALS A DAY was a gigantic failure.  As it turns out, I love to eat.  Alas, I love to eat more than three measly times a day.  Who wudda thunk it?  I am not really that surprised, but I thought for sure I could accomplish such a simple goal.  It was not to be!  Oh well.  You learn something new every day.

Part of the problem was that my friend came over for dinner and a movie.  What good is a movie with one’s friend if one cannot consume ice cream, popcorn, wine, and chocolate in one sitting?  We were watching Bridget Jones’ Diary, so junk food was a must.  (If you thought this was a healthy living blog, I am sorry, you are grossly mistaken!  lol)

We started out the evening healthy enough.  Ang made Cauliflower Cheddar soup and brought along a loaf of French bread.  Perfection on a cold winter’s night!

Dinner for two.  And, oh yes, we ate all that bread!

Soup with cheese.  It’s a good thing.

***********************************************************

Even though Henry had a different itinerary in mind this morning, I was dead set on making Carrot Cake Oatmeal for breakfast.  After a bit of nursing, a diaper change, 1 or 2 or 7 attempts at getting him to nap, I was finally able to make it approximately 3 hours after waking.  I could have just grabbed one of my Morning Glory muffins for breakfast, but I really wanted this oatmeal!

Heaven in a bowl

I tried to lighten it up a bit by not using any coconut milk or cream and using just 1 tablespoon of maple syrup and no raisins.  I probably used more walnuts than it called for, because I have a giant bag from Costco.  That, and I am keen to get all my omega-3s.  Yes.  That’s it.

Once you have Carrot Cake Oatmeal, it’s tough having non-Carrot Cake Oatmeal, y’know?

************************************************************

Today, Henry, Hubby, and I made a family trip to Walmart.  You may think, “Oh, Walmart, big whoop”, but for a housebound lady like me, this is a big event.  Husband decided to take us to a Walmart a bit further away and asked me if I had a problem with  it.  I absolutely do not have a problem with being out of the house for longer than one hour at a time!  I think I’ve mentioned it on this blog before about how I feel like an excited dog on a car ride.  If I could, I’d stick my head out the window, too!

Along with such exciting items as baby gear, bananas, and cat food, I also bought this coupon sorter!!!

$4.95 at a Walmart near you

Ever since watching the show Extreme Couponing on TLC, in which regular citizens of the world like you and me are able to buy hundreds of dollars of groceries for, like, 5% of the actual cost, I have become a bit obsessed with clipping coupons.  None of our weekly flyers really offer many coupons, so I’ve resorted to websites like save.ca and websaver.ca in order to accumulate some.

I haven’t been doing much shopping lately (see:  never leaving my house!), but I hope, one day soon, to resume the role of primary grocery shopper in the Frugal ‘n’ Fit household.  God love him, but my husband is not as obsessed with frugal living as I am.  I know, shocker!  He will often go to the “expensive” grocery store to buy all of our groceries, instead of going to three different grocery stores in order to get the best deals like a certain other member of our household would (Hint:  Not Henry).

So I am clipping my coupons and getting ready to score some deals!

Coupon sorting.  It’s a good thing.

*************************************************************

And to conclude this entry, I just want to say I’ve written the entire thing while simultaneously using my foot to bounce Henry in his bouncy chair!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Oh Glorious Morning! Walnut Raisin No-Knead Bread

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  January 7, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    OMG. this is hilarious! YOU BOUGHT A COUPON BOOK AT WALMART TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!

    HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

    sorry…. i just couldn’t contain myself…. 🙂 you know that i am just teasing… sort of. did you have to fight off several 75 year olds to pick the colour you wanted?

    i will stop now. 🙂 i don’t want to get flagged like Jim Lee and not be able to post anything to this blog anymore.

    i also wanted to comment that that soup looks REALLY good and i would have eaten that much bread by myself. i am not fit. i have to be frugal, but have a generous boyfriend so luckily i don’t have to look it…. LOL 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 7, 2011 at 5:55 pm

      You just wait until I buy $700 worth of groceries for $3 and then who will be laughing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Reply
  • 3. Mel  |  January 7, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    I am squinting hard trying to figure out what the back tab of your coupon sorter says. The one behind “restaurants”. I am dying of curiosity.

    Reply
    • 4. Sarah  |  January 7, 2011 at 7:22 pm

      I believe that is “snacks” 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Nicole Bond  |  January 8, 2011 at 2:34 am

    Hi! It’s Nicole from “Joyful Me”- weird you wrote about couponing today cause I just started a new blog about “homemaking” and my first post was about coupons! Check it out:

    notsosuzyhomemaker.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 8, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      Oh nice! I shall add to my Google Reader!

      Reply
  • 8. Kim  |  January 8, 2011 at 9:22 am

    That coupon sorter is all kinds of great! I must look for one on my next trip to Walmart!

    We never get any coupons with our flyers but this week we got the Brandsaver ones and I scored 2! I do wish we could get e-coupons like they have in the States thoough!

    Reply
    • 9. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 8, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      I got that Brandsaver insert too! I got all excited with my scissors and coupon sorter lol

      Reply
  • 10. Lynn  |  January 8, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Coupon sorter is a good idea. I speculate that one reason coupons are not used is likely that most people don’t have a system / strategy for using them.

    Reply
    • 11. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 8, 2011 at 3:32 pm

      I think you’re right too. I tried just putting them in an envelope and stuffing them into the top drawer of my desk, but I always forgot about them. If I get into the habit of bringing my coupon sorter with me to the grocery store, I’m bound to use them more often!

      Reply
  • 12. Erika  |  January 9, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    i want one! i have a ratty old envelope in my purse with coupons in it. un organized and a mess. people get annoyed when im digging through my envelope for coupons lol

    Reply
    • 13. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 10, 2011 at 9:00 am

      I didn’t even think coupon sorters were out there until I was taking my time in the stationary section of Walmart last week. I think it could be life-changing! lol

      Reply
  • 14. Sunday Baking « Nevermind Kim  |  January 16, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    […] 16, 2011 by echoingmetaphor Leave a Comment About a week or two ago Robyn posted about a nifty coupon wallet she found at Wal-Mart.  Well I’m happy to report that I too am now the proud owner of one of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

