Shots

January 4, 2011 at 3:41 pm 9 comments

I am not talking about the kind of shots that are alcohol-based and so commonly mixed with jello.  Oh no.  I am talking about the kind of shots that poor, little two-month old boys must endure so that they do not contract Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Polio, or Pneumonia.  Today was Henry’s first doctor appointment and I am not sure if it was worse for him or his parents!  But we got through it and can live in shot-free oblivion for another two months.

Tuckered out!

It was a bit more work getting to the doctor’s office than usual because we woke up to a blanket of the white stuff.  No, not cocaine.  Much worse!

I love the snow.  Caveat:  When I can stay inside all day.

Husband’s reaction upon first seeing the snow:

I love that he lets me post these online

Husband’s feelings about conquering the snow today:

He is a valiant man, that one.

By the time we got home from the doctor’s office, it was time for lunch.  I’ve been eating a steady supply of salads for the last few days.  Like so many others, I am detoxing from the chocolate-covered merriment of the past two weeks.

Spinach, cucumber, carrot, broccoli, green pepper, mushroom, chick peas, walnuts, cranberry-encrusted goat cheese, with balsamic vinaigrette

For dinner, I am trying a new recipe!

******NEW RECIPE ALERT******

It is called Fakes, which, if nothing else, is just fun to say.  It’s a lentil-based soup which is all we need to know.  Lentils are a miracle food.  I still can’t get over their nutritional profile.  1 cup cooked has 230 calories, 1 gram of fat, 16 grams of fiber, and 18 grams of protein.  It’s enough to warm even the coldest Dietician’s heart.  Plus they are cheap cheap cheap.  I will let you know how it goes!

My goal to eat three square meals (plus dessert!) yesterday was a success!  I must confess that three Hershey’s kisses were consumed post-dessert, but I was watching The Bachelor and needed ample sustenance in order to endure the desperate, beautiful, and catty women.  Really, I am committing to watching The Bachelor this year because:

1.  It is January.  What else am I going to do with my Monday nights?  Read a book?  Pshaw.

2.  I can text with my friend Sarah, who also watches.  At one point, I was watching, texting, and nursing, simultaneously!

Will Bachelor Brad find true love this year?  We can only hope that we care enough to watch the rest of the season.

Source of picture

Never trust a man holding this many roses meant for multiple women other than you!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Leftovers Tummy Time

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  January 4, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    classic pictures of “hubby” 🙂

    yes, you are stuck watching the entire season of the bachelor this year because i need someone to discuss it with…via text…DURING the show… LOL

    ps. i would not trust bachelor brad because he’s only holding roses…not tiffany’s or coach 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 4, 2011 at 3:54 pm

      Texting while watching does make me feel more “productive” with my time. Obviously I have low standards when it comes to productivity! lol

      I wonder if the engagement ring he will give is Tiffany’s? I wonder if he read the manual beforehand?

      Reply
      • 3. Sarah  |  January 4, 2011 at 4:44 pm

        I don’t believe they have ever gone into a well-known jeweller to buy the rings…. but if he is considering a Tiffany’s ring he should definately do his homework! 🙂

  • 4. Kim  |  January 5, 2011 at 9:14 am

    That snow was brutal yesterday! It usually takes me 20-30 minutes to get to work and yesterday took 3 hours! Ridic.

    That salad looks really good!

    I haven’t watched The Bachelor since Season 1, that guy was such a jerk I vowed never to watch again. I can only imagine it’s gotten so much more, interesting since then!

    Reply
    • 5. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 5, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      You are probably a better person for not getting sucked into other Bachelor seasons. Not a single Bachelor has stayed with his fiancee! Weak!

      Reply
  • 6. Erika  |  January 5, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Iain is hilarious in those pics! Wish mine was more happy with new fallen snow. Hope Henry did well with his shots. I think its harder on us, than them. Bree is done getting shots… but it starts all over again when baby boy comes along. Poor kiddos!

    Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 6, 2011 at 1:15 pm

      Next time I am going to take a preventative measure and give him some Baby Tylenol beforehand. I wish I had known this tip beforehand!

      Reply
  • 8. Lynn  |  January 6, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Since learning of Carrot Cake Oatmeal, and in spite of my comments on the 50% of daily caloric intake it represents, I have been unable to go back to my frosted mini-wheats. Yesterday I added some leftover mashed sweet potato and cranberry sauce to my oatmeal which was not bad. However, I think grated is better as it adds a bit of texture, as long as the oatmeal is not overcooked.

    Shots do have a way of upsetting the precarious balance of life with an infant. Hope Henry is back to his usual self.

    Reply
    • 9. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 6, 2011 at 1:16 pm

      I am glad to hear that Carrot Cake Oatmeal is a routine presence in your life! It is perfect for breakfasts in January I think.

      Henry seems to be his usual self. His next appointment is March 1st so that gives us a couple of months to prepare again!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

