Leftovers

January 3, 2011 at 5:38 pm 2 comments

As you know, I am a huge fan of the resolution-making process and love to read about others’, but by January 3rd I am sick of hearing about it.  Anyway, they say that most people break their resolutions by the beginning of March.  If my resolution is to fail and I have done nothing but succeed, does this make my resolution a failure?

(Ooh, thought-provoking.)

Now that the holidays are over, life has returned to normal.  Since I am currently a stay-at-home-mom, this only means that I’ve put away the Christmas decorations and anxiously await the return of my favourite television shows.  That is about the only difference.

For kicks, I’ve given myself the goal today to eat three square meals a day with no snacking in between.  I honesty don’t think I have ever done this before!  It has been a lifetime of snacking, let me tell you.

So far, so good.  I have reserved the right to have dessert at 7:30 tonight (there is ice cream cake in the freezer!).  For breakfast, I had a bowl of rice chex with all-bran, topped with plain non-fat yogurt, a sliced banana and some berries, and a spoonful of almond butter.  For lunch, I had a giant garden salad with a goat cheese medallion and a GIANT hard-boiled egg.  For dinner, I had leftovers!

Baked pasta, broccoli salad, and chick pea salad

With a small bowl of fruit.

All together now.

I love leftovers.  You get a little bit of this, a little bit of that, you don’t have to cook and it’s frugal (especially when the food was purchased by your in-laws!).

Speaking of my in-laws – and to totally go off-topic but it’s my blog so I will! – they won $3000 in the lotto today and they are giving us $500.  Score!  We are setting it aside for our vacation fund so that we can go somewhere cool with Henry this summer.  So not only do they bring us broccoli salad, but they give us their lotto winnings.  I married into the right family, of this I am sure.

I took these photos with my camera rather than my iPhone and I can really tell a difference.  It’s a bit more work to upload (download?) the photos to the computer, but I think it’s worth it.  The pictures are much more clear.  It’s tough enough taking pictures of food in the early, dark evenings.  I might as well use all the help I can get if I want my blog hits to increase to Dooce-like proportions (yeah right!).

************************************************************

Ok, the rest of this blog post is probably only of interest to the Canadian readers, or those non-Canadians with access to CBC, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.  Not since the days of Anne of Green Gables have I been excited for a show on CBC!  Have you heard of Village On a Diet?  It’s a reality show about a village in British Columbia trying to lose weight all together.  I think it will be like a more quaint, more Canadian The Biggest Loser.

“So how’s about this calorie counting, eh?”.

“Don’t know what to order at Timmies now that I can’t have my Iced Cap and fritter”.

“This Canadian bacon sandwich is just no good without the Canadian bacon”.

/cultural stereotyping

Anyway, I am excited to watch it and I think Henry is, too.

Soon to be starring in The Biggest Cutie Pie

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Flava Flaaaaaav Shots

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erika  |  January 4, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    leftovers are the best! you dont have to cook, just reheat and you then dont waste the food and throw it out. thats awesome about your inlaws winning, and the fact theyre sharing with you. yay!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 4, 2011 at 3:42 pm

      I love that moment when you are contemplating what to make for dinner and then you realize you can just have leftovers. It’s like winning a very tiny lottery! hehe.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

