Maple Walnut Quinoa

January 1, 2011 at 10:28 am 4 comments

Happy New Year!  2011 is here to stay.  Well, for 365 days, anyway.  Just enough time to prepare for 2012.  Eek!

We had a great time with friends last night, and have the photograph of all the food to prove it!

Excess, thy name is New Years Eve

Even Henry got a bit dressed up for the occasion — until he had an absolute conniption fit which necessitated the removal of his outfit into something a bit more comfortable.  Can’t blame the little dude.  He has only known life either naked or in a cozy sleeper!

It looks like he is trying to fly away

*****************************************************************

To start this year off on stable footing, I thought I’d share this recipe for Maple Walnut Quinoa, a delicious, nutritious, and ambitious (?) way to commence the first day of the new year.  I adapted this from Quinoa 365.

Topped with pomegranates.  ‘Tis the season for fuschia-stained fingers (and cutting boards, and counters, and basically every kitchen appliance surrounding the pomegranate!)

Serves 1:

2 Tablespoons chopped walnuts

1/3 cup quinoa

2/3 cup water

1 Tablespoon oat bran

2 teaspoons maple syrup

Fuschia-stained handful of pomegranate seeds 😉

1.  Toast the walnuts in a small saucepan on medium-high heat.  Stir frequently for 3 to 4 minutes until the walnuts are toasted.  Remove from the pan.

2.  Combine quinoa, water and oat bran in the same saucepan.  Cover, bring to a boil, and then reduce heat to simmer for 10 minutes.  Leave the saucepan on the burner, cover, for an additional 5 minutes.

3.  Remove from the heat and stir in maple syrup and walnuts.  Transfer to a bowl and top with pomegranates.

It just dawned on me that this recipe is also vegan, so bonus points for that!  The vegans, they love the quinoa.  It is a complete protein, after all.

******************************************

Source of picture

I am going to try something new to see if it helps me achieve my New Years resolution this year, along with some other goals too. I am going to make a list of goals for January, stick it onto my bedroom mirror, and try to achieve these goals within the month.  Achieving small goals within 30 or 31 days (or 28 — February’s going to be tough!) is much more immediate than 365 days.  I’m not going to share these goals yet — I’ll see if this little plan works and THEN I will share them.  Stay tuned for January 31st’s entry!  Ooh, another tease to get you to revisit the blog.  So clever, that one.  So very, very clever.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

My 2011 Resolution Flava Flaaaaaav

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. echoingmetaphor  |  January 1, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Happy New Year!

    Henry looks absolutely adorable in that outfit, too bad he didn’t appreciate wearing it!

    I still haven’t tried Quinoa yet, despite having a bag of it in my pantry. I think I might try your version of it for breakfast tomorrow, that looks delicious.

    Good luck with your goals. I really like the idea of setting smaller ones and trying to complete them within a month.

    Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  January 3, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I have only tried to eat a pomegranate once… do you eat the seedy things whole, or do you nibble the tiny bits of fruit off and spit out the seed? ive never had the luck or patience for them.

    happy new year!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 3, 2011 at 5:15 pm

      you eat the entire seed. they are very time-consuming to “de-seed”, but I think the payoff is worth it 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

