Books I took(s)

December 28, 2010 at 9:42 am 12 comments

Greetings from this side of Christmas 2010!  I hope that yours was an enjoyable one.  Mine involved a sick baby and a sick self, but was still an enjoyable time regardless.  One thing I have learned this Christmas is that now that I have a child, Christmas is no longer about me.  Huh, who woulda thunk?  I didn’t realize how relaxing Christmas was until now, when it no longer is.  But I am not complaining even though that’s exactly what it looks like!  I am just grateful to have a (relatively) healthy baby boy, family and friends with whom to spend it, and a giant pile of gifts all for me me me me me 🙂

I won’t bore you with tales of what I specifically received, but I will tell you about the books!  I LOVE to read, but having a wee babe 24/7 doesn’t leave much time for perusing the ol’ library looking for the next Curtis Sittenfeld or Alice Munro.  A couple of weeks ago, I actually checked out six books from the library and was excited to stimulate that part of my brain again, only to have read through a mere half of one of the books!  Piddly!  And I call myself an English Major?!  Unacceptable!

So I am very happy to have received five books this Christmas.  There is no due date so I can take my time with them.  At this rate, my goal is to complete them by the end of the year.  Way to aim low, Robyn!

Books I received for your voyeuristic information:

1.  Unbearable Lightness by Portia De Rossi

I love biographies, especially autobiographies.  I was disappointed to see there is no glossy section in the middle full of pictures of her.  However, I guess a book about struggling with anorexia and self-image doesn’t really benefit from readers staring at pictures of her during this difficult time, eh?

2.  My Booky Wook by Russell Brand

I’ve always found Russell Brand funny, but it wasn’t until I saw him on Conan about a month ago that I realized how intelligent this guy really is.  What a wordsmith!  (Note: I have never referred to anyone as a wordsmith EVER, so this really counts for something).  Since his life is pretty much the polar opposite of mine, I was interested in reading this and mentioned it to Husband in passing.  Well, he remembered and got me this!  I am already 1/4 through.  Given my recent track record, this is noteworthy and deserving of many accolades.

3.  Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

This tome is about as highbrow as I get these days.  I had this in my library queue but after seeing him on Oprah and hearing some of the glowing reviews, I figured I should own this one.  Plus, since it is so large, there is no way I could finish it within the three weeks permitted by the library.  I am hoping that once I read this, I will be ready to read heavier works that I don’t just hear about on Conan or Oprah (where, in fact, I heard about all three of these books!  Oh my).

4.  Quinoa 365

Every recipe calls for quinoa!  I am really excited to try some of these out, especially since I have two Costco-sized bags of quinoa in my possession.  Many call for quinoa flour, which gets me a bit less excited (I imagine quinoa flour is $$$).  However, I have a $50 gift card to Bulk Barn as well, so perhaps all of my culinary aspirations can come true in 2011.  Let’s hope.

5.  Muffin Mania

As the title suggests, this one just has muffin recipes.  It was originally printed in the early 1980s by a local printer and looks like something assembled in your neighbor’s basement.  It was so popular, however, that this edition was reprinted in 2008 or thereabouts.  It has about 60 different muffin recipes, including a chocolate cheesecake recipe and a “muffin that tastes like a donut” recipe.  All of the recipes are very easy and call for basic ingredients, so I thought I could challenge myself to try every recipe in 2011, like a Julie and Julia project!  Then sanity returned as I figured that baking 60 different types of muffins would turn me off muffins forever.  I’ve already tried the pumpkin recipe with success!  I am itching to bake a muffin that tastes like a donut.  I am a self-proclaimed Fritter Fiend, after all.

So there you have it.  Two biographies, two cookbooks, and one work of fiction.  Hopefully these keep me occupied and out of trouble until 2012!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Christmas Eve Eve Chili Lasagna, Or, Why I Fly My Frugal Flag With Pride

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  December 28, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Ohhh! I hope the Portia de Rossi book is good! I was thinking of picking that one (and the quinoa book) up myself!

    I miss reading for pleasure! Being back at school all I read are boring old psychology journal articles!

    I did, however get FOUR new cookbooks for Christmas! Those are the only other books I read these days!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 28, 2010 at 10:38 am

      School is just a damper when it comes to reading for fun. In my university days, once exams were over, I’d race to the library and check out the cheesiest chick lit I could find. Bright pink covers with pictures of lipstick on them necessary 🙂

      I can’t wait to read about your adventures in cooking come 2011!

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  December 28, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Christmas is all about the kiddos once you have them. Seeing Bree happy was gift in itself for me 🙂 I wanna get Booky Wooky and the new one he wrote. He’s so funny! Glad you had such a wonderful Christmas!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:22 am

      I am definitely looking forward to Christmases in the next few years when it is a huge deal for Henry!

      Reply
  • 5. Sarah  |  December 28, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    There are some pictures of portia towards the back of the book, but they are not nice ones. i actually couldn’t read the whole book, it’s very accurate and it was difficult for me to read it…i kept waiting for the parts where she gets better and actually had to just skim the remainder of the book and read the last chapter about her recovery. i think it will help alot of people to understand this illness since it is a very eye opening account of how an anorexic actually is/behaves. Its hard to say its a “good” book because of the subject matter but it is well written.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:23 am

      Thanks for the warning. I remember watching her on Ally McBeal so it will be interesting to hear her inner thoughts during this time when she was both lauded and criticized for being so thin.

      Reply
  • 7. Sarah  |  December 28, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    ps chick lit is NOT cheesy 🙂
    pps can’t wait to dive into “mini shopaholic” this week! 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:24 am

      Oh, I love chicklit! I was just looking for the most brainless of them all to detox from my university readings lol

      Reply
  • 9. echoingmetaphor  |  December 28, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    That Portia book is on my list to buy with the gift cards I received! The Russell Brand book is great, hope you like it!

    And that Quinoa book, I keep eyeing it as Costco, I think one of these days I might have to pick it up.

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:24 am

      I bet my mother-in-law bought it at Costco — she loves that place! Coincidentally, that is also where I get my huge bags of quinoa!

      Oh, I am going to add you to my Google reader. It sounds like we have a lot in common! 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Heather  |  December 31, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    Oh you can make your own quinoa flour! I admit to not having tried it before, but I’ve done a bit of research. Check it out: http://www.recipetips.com/kitchen-tips/t–1034/home-flour-milling.asp

    Reply
    • 12. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  January 1, 2011 at 12:23 pm

      Ooh, that sounds like a challenge! A challenge I think I am up for 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

