Getting sick?

December 21, 2010 at 9:49 am 6 comments

I woke up in the middle of the night to feed Henry and I felt that very specific feeling in my throat that a cold is coming on.  I just had a cold two weeks ago that Henry is STILL getting over, so if I am sick again – mere days before Christmas – I am going to be royally bummed!  After feeding Henry, I gargled with warm salt water.  This morning, instead of coffee, I had green tea with lemon and honey as well as an orange and scrambled eggs.

Source of picture

My green tea doesn’t look nearly this good.

Now I am chugging water.

Please Lord, or whatever deity is in charge of dispensing common colds…

Please do not let me be sick!  I am so looking forward to Henry’s first Christmas and don’t want it impeded by anything!

Sincerely, Frugal ‘n’ Fit.

*********************************************************

It has been a very busy and social few days, which explains (BUT DOES NOT EXCUSE!!!) the lack of posts.  As Gilly says on Saturday Night Live, SORRY.

Source of picture

Today’s planned goals involved making sugar cookie dough but I don’t want to strain myself.  Ideally, I would still be in bed, but a little man that shares half of my DNA will not be having it, and he is actually strapped to me in my Moby fast asleep!  But we shall see…

****************************************

As Christmas Day approaches, I have been receiving lots of beautiful Christmas cards, so much so that my mantle is full.   I actually gave up displaying them and just piled them on the coffee table.  How very anti-Martha Stewart!  After the holidays, I pack them away with my leftover wrapping paper and ribbons and use them as gift tags the following year.  Do you have any way you recycle greeting cards? Some of the cards are so beautiful they could be framed!  I have often thought of reconstructing old Christmas cards into new ones instead of buying them.  A frugal move, but time-consuming!

****************************************

TODAY’S GOALS:

1.  Try try try not to let my cold progress

2.  Make sugar cookies???

3.  Bathe

My to-do lists are pathetic!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The Caturday Before Christmas Carrot Cake Oatmeal

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  December 21, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Time to start mowing down on that garlic, woman! Need to get your immunity back!

    Hope it turns out to be nothing so you can enjoy yourself!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 21, 2010 at 4:23 pm

      i wish i had garlic capsules! i should get some for times like this, especially since i still can’t take cold medicine or cold fx because of the whole breast feeding thing.

      Reply
  • 3. quietlifeinct  |  December 21, 2010 at 11:04 am

    I have used the fronts of greeting cards as gift tags the following year-just cut out an interesting part of the scene or a character, or use the whole thing on a big package, which is what my gram has always done. Lately a lot of my friends have turned to the photo greeting cards, so those I just save as they are pictures of their family/pets/babies and it’s fun to see the changes every year.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 21, 2010 at 4:24 pm

      yeah, i learned that trick from my mom! i was thinking of sending out one of those photo greeting cards next year, now that i have a baby to show off! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  December 21, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    I hope youre not getting sick again! Get lots of vitamin c, fresh air, drink lots, etc… Thinking of you!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 21, 2010 at 4:24 pm

      I hope not too, but that seems to be the case. I have been chugging water and green tea but haven’t got any fresh air today, which is a shame since it was so sunny! xxoo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

