Carrot Cake Oatmeal

December 21, 2010 at 5:11 pm 9 comments

I am in, indeed, coming down with a cold but I am still determined to fight the sucker.  I have been chugging water and green tea and borrowed this tip from a recent issue of Women’s World magazine of all places:  I put two decaf green tea bags into the carafe of my coffee maker and poured water into the machine like usual.  I removed the tea bags after 5 minutes, but my coffee maker kept the green tea warm all day so I could top up my mug whenever I wanted.  It’s an easy way to increase your green tea intake when there is always hot tea at the ready.  Pretty smart, eh?

But the reason I am writing a second entry today is:

1.  Henry finally fell asleep!  Alert the media!  Two naps in one day has been sadly missing from our routine as of late.

2.  I am currently eating such a delicious meal that I had to share it IMMEDIATELY.

Since I am sick and feeling glum, I decided to have Breakfast for Dinner.   Husband is at work so I am flying solo.  When I saw Oh She Glow’s recipe for Carrot Cake Oatmeal, I knew I had to make it, like, now so I did.  Ahhh, autonomy.

I looooove carrot cake.  It is my favourite of all the cakes.  I often wonder how the first person came upon this recipe.  Think about all of the other vegetable cakes that were made before carrot cake was invented.  Potato cake.  Green bean cake.  Pea cake.  Don’t visualize that last one (Eww).

Incorporating the best aspects of carrot cake into oatmeal form is pure genius.  If you’ve read Oh She Glows for any amount of time, you know you can trust her recipes.  She is a vegan which makes her recipes even more unique.  Sadly, my version of this recipe lost its vegan rep by my using regular cream instead of coconut cream.  Oops!

Amazing that this shade of orange is naturally occurring.

At first it felt a little weird to be adding carrots to my oatmeal

The finished product!

Along with using regular cream, I also used almonds instead of walnuts since I am out.  Aside from those substitutions, I made the recipe exactly as described.

After such a glum day, it’s definitely been the highlight.  Food so often is…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Getting sick? Updates

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  December 21, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    i was just looking at that carrot cake oatmeal on oh she glows and wondering if i would like it!!! i am getting tired of my cold oats in the morning… 😦

    i guess this is not frugal, but you can always buy a tea maker which is like a coffee maker, and it will keep a pot of tea warm for awhile…not sure how long because i don’t have one, my sister does.

    hope you feel better!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 22, 2010 at 8:19 am

      If you like oatmeal and you like carrot cake (which I know you do!), then I think you would really like this recipe. I’d like to try making it with the coconut cream because I think that would be pretty amazing. I didn’t know you read Oh She Glows! Does Reb? It’s like vegan heaven over there.

      Reply
      • 3. Sarah  |  December 23, 2010 at 10:15 am

        I noticed the link once when you had mentioned her before…she has some good recipes. I was going to send the link to Reb, she hasn’t seen it before. She’d have to adapt the sugar but I’m sure she’s used to that by now anyways…

  • 4. Lynn  |  December 22, 2010 at 8:28 am

    I’ll definitely try this it looks scrumptious although I would be interested to know the calorie count for the recipe. Sorry to be a party pooper but maple syrup, coconut cream, walnuts and shredded coconut make it a less than frugal way to spend calories.

    Reply
  • 6. Mind Motion & Matter  |  December 22, 2010 at 10:50 am

    I speak from the experience of being introduced to a Thai black, sticky rice pudding with mangoes and coconut cream recipe. I was ready to have coconut cream every day and then the bubble burst when I discovered how many calories and how much saturated fat it contained. Although there are some marginal benefits as far the saturated fat category goes.

    Sorry for being a party pooper. As I said, I’m definitely going to try it but I would not have it for breakfast everyday.

    Reply
  • 7. Erika  |  December 22, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    i read that as oatmeal carrot cake, and wondered why you didnt bake it! baby brain lol

    Reply
  • 9. Carrots, the breakfast of champions « Mind, Motion & Matter  |  December 30, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    […] this month I learned of a Carrot Cake Oatmeal recipe from a friend’s blog Frugal ‘n’ Fit, who learned of it from another food blog called Oh She Glows. I have always been an oatmeal lover […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

