Loaf

December 15, 2010 at 9:54 am 6 comments

There is something about this kind of weather that makes me just want to loaf around.  Of course, having a six-week old and being on maternity leave helps achieve this pursuit, but news stories like these are a welcome reminder that from December to March, you are best off at home with a cup of steaming *insert hot beverage of choice* in your hands.

I also think that loafing around is best achieved with actual loaf!

Pumpkin Loaf half eaten.  Or, as an optimist would say, half not-eaten

I pulled myself up by my boot straps yesterday (boot straps = yoga pants) and managed to bake a pumpkin loaf.  Sweet breads are really easy to make and  I think this took me between 5 and 10 minutes to put together and another 45 minutes to bake.  Yesterday was The Day of the Loaf because Lynn brought over some of her insanely delicious lemon poppy seed loaf.  I would have taken a picture of it but I think there are only 3 crumbs of it left.

It is a gorgeous day outside, but the Internet has notified me that it’s -10 Celsius out there.  Yikes!  Since I rarely step outside of my house these days, I am no longer acclimatized to these frigid Canadian temperatures.  I am like a member of the Jamaican bobsled team!

Except with much less fashion sense.

******************************************************************

I had some cooked brown rice leftover from my Florentine Rice Bake so I decided to have it for breakfast.  In the summer, I enjoyed having cooked barley for breakfast, so I figured that rice would be along the same lines.  Plus it is very frugal.  Ah, the magic word!

Since rice on its own is very – how should I say this? – not very tasty, I spruced it up by topping it with plain yogurt, raspberries, blueberries, honey and cinnamon.  I was starving when I ate this, coming off a marathon nursing session with one hungry and growing little boy, so I wolfed it down.  I am pretty sure I liked it, though.  By the way, how bizarro is it to eat fresh blueberries and raspberries in December?  No wonder our world is melting!

***********************************************************

GOALS FOR TODAY:

1.  Shower.  This is more of a challenge than you realize!

2.  Go to the library and pick up the 57 books I have on hold.  This is a slight exaggeration, maybe.

3.  Post on my blog.  Done and….almost done!

4.  Wrap two Christmas gifts

5.  Make Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili for dinner.  Perhaps the most far-reaching yet satisfying goal on the list!

I will let you know how I fare in tomorrow’s post.  Have a great hump day!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

The Recipe that Wasn’t My newborn’s not a newborn anymore! *Sniff*

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erika  |  December 15, 2010 at 10:43 am

    that loaf looks delicious! i hope you achieve todays goals. i feel like doing… nothing! have laundry on the go, thats a start. we got over a foot of snow again, so we are hibernating as usual.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      I can’t believe all the snow you guys are getting! I wouldn’t mind it from the comfort of my living room, but feel bad for all the drivers out there.

      Reply
  • 3. Amanda C  |  December 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Your breakfast looks delicious! I love mixing rice into yogourt, with a bit of maple syrup in there too.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      Ooh, maple syrup! I prefer that to honey and will remember for next time 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Nicole @ Joyful Me  |  December 15, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    That loaf looks loaf-ely!…

    OK.

    I’m a nerd.

    I love the winter because I love having an excuse to snuggle up inside and watch tv all day. During the summer if I try this I just feel instantly lazy!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 16, 2010 at 3:14 pm

      Oh yes, I love not feeling guilty for being a couch potato. That is probably my favourite part of winter 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

