The Recipe that Wasn’t

December 14, 2010 at 9:11 am 13 comments

Last night, I tried a new recipe and was all excited to share it with you today.  I even took pictures of each stage of cooking and felt like a bona fide food blogger instead of the impostor I usually feel like!  Unfortunately, although the outcome was edible, I don’t think it was delicious enough to post here.  If there is one thing you can count on when visiting the Frugal ‘n’ Fit blog, it is delicious, nutritious, and frugal recipes!  Also, pictures of my cats!

Snugs during her modeling phase

I was going to call this recipe Florentine Rice Bake.  I was really proud of myself for using the word “Florentine” which, to me, basically means “This recipe has spinach”.  Here is the end result:

It basically consists of a bottom layer of cooked brown rice, topped with a combination of onions, peppers, spinach, tomatoes, tofu, and parmesan cheese, and then topped with mozzarella cheese.  I made a TON and will be eating this for dinner for the rest of the week.  C’est la vie.

In other news, I must now sing the praises of the invention called the bouncy chair.  My friend, Mel, gave Henry a bouncy chair and we had been keeping it in the rec room/man cave to be used in the evening when we watch television.  For some reason, I decided to move it upstairs where we spend most of our day.  Smart thinking on my part because it is a perfect place for him to chillax while I make coffee/go to the washroom/do dishes.  He can last upwards of 10 minutes just sitting there, enjoying the vibrations.

Babies are funny.  He will stare at the same empty space on the wall for what seems like an eternity (an eternity in “baby time” is like five minutes).  Lately, he has been staring at our chimney.  As soon as I put him in the bouncy chair, his head turns towards it.  Here is photographic evidence:

The mantle is playing the part of the Christmas tree this year.  Deal with it!

There must be some colour contrast that captures his eye, but I like to think he is waiting for Santa!

Today my friend, Lynn, is coming for a visit which is exciting!  You should check out her blog!  She is a renowned marathon runner who recently ran the California International Marathon and placed FIRST in her age category.  I know!

I would also like to bake some banana bread or cookies if time (i.e. Henry!) permits it.

I think these are my only two goals today.  It’s a tough life, it really is.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Nutella: Socially Acceptable Junk Food for Lunch Loaf

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda C  |  December 14, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Henry KNOWS what’s going on. He’s just waiting for Santa to slide on down and bring even more presents.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 14, 2010 at 10:07 am

      He already knows how this Christmas game is played!

      Reply
  • 3. Allison  |  December 14, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Oh hooray for the bouncy seat! Man, it’s the best for the under 3 months set.

    Do you have any ceiling fans? If yes, turn those babies on and Henry will be occupied for several minutes/hours. Eventually they will get old enough to get bored but it works for awhile.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 14, 2010 at 2:50 pm

      I tried the ceiling fan trick but it never caught his eye. I will keep trying though!

      Reply
  • 5. Sarah  |  December 14, 2010 at 11:59 am

    He’s waiting for you to put the Christmas tree up! LOL

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 14, 2010 at 2:50 pm

      Ha! He is going to have to wait a while longer yet…

      Reply
  • 7. John Lee Scott  |  December 14, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    No tree? what else are you taking away Mrs. Scroog?? How about no birthday presents for henry?

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 14, 2010 at 2:51 pm

      Deal with it!

      Reply
      • 9. Sarah  |  December 14, 2010 at 5:45 pm

        If Henry wants to see a tree he can come see John Lee’s, it’s all purdy and sparkly and disney-like 🙂

  • 10. Erika  |  December 14, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    bouncy seats and swings are the bomb! and i agree, cieling fans are amusing too. bree still goes bonkers when ours is on!

    Reply
    • 11. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 14, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      who knew they doubled as amusement for children? 🙂

      Reply
  • 12. Sarah  |  December 14, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Sorry for the multiple posts, but I forgot to ask, where is Henry’s stocking? Or does he get both? Or are those just decor? (nosy, nosy, nosy….)

    Reply
    • 13. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 14, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      they are just decorative. i am thinking about making one for henry!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

