Nutella: Socially Acceptable Junk Food for Lunch

December 13, 2010 at 12:54 pm 13 comments

I know I am not alone when I loudly exclaim my love for Nutella.

Source of picture

Take a moment for yourself and just enjoy this photo

Growing up, I never had Nutella. My parents never bought it.  It wasn’t until my teens that I discovered it at a friend’s house.  They may have found me, cowering in the corner of the bathroom, with nothing but Nutella and a spoon.  Ok, that is an exaggeration, but it could happen.  Nutella makes even the craziest situations possible.

Not only is it basically a liquified chocolate bar, but it is socially acceptable to consume it for a meal.  It is categorized in the same family as peanut butter.  This means that you can spread some on toast, slice up a banana with it, and call it a day.  A very, very delicious day.

But it is not nearly as nutritious as natural peanut butter.  Its main ingredients are sugar and vegetable oil.  1 tablespoon has 100 calories, 11 grams of sugar, and only 1 gram of protein.

Because of this, I never buy it.  I just eye it longingly in the grocery story aisle.  Immediately after giving birth, though, my mother-in-law brought over a bunch of grocery staples, including a jar of this.

It has been a wonderful – albeit overly sweet and somewhat unhealthy – five and a half weeks.

But I am trying not to sweat it.  I am viewing it as a temporary, postpartum treat.  Sure, I just ate a completely filling dinner, but toast with nutella for dessert makes sense, right?  And then another piece an hour later?  That is normal!  Surely you agree (PLEASE SAY YES).

Source of picture

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Baingan Bharta The Recipe that Wasn’t

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  December 13, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    YES x12397349829485

    I cannot have a jar of the damn stuff in my house. It seriously won’t last 2 days (the small jars at least). You have such self-control if you have managed to keep it around that long!!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 13, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      I think the jar my MIL bought is Costco-sized. That is the only explanation for its continued existence in this household!

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  December 13, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Mmm…Nutella…

    I agree with everything you said and have nothing more to add to this conversation.

    The end.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm

      Ha! I am glad we see eye-to-eye on this important and timely matter.

      Reply
  • 5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun)  |  December 13, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Nutella is so good, but I agree. I add cocoa powder to my peanut butter and bit of sweetener and call it a day.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 13, 2010 at 4:17 pm

      Ooh, that is smart! Months ago I bought some Maranatha peanut butter with chocolate that is still sitting in my pantry, waiting for the perfect moment to enter my life/mouth. That will be a fine, fine day!

      Reply
  • 7. Jim Lee Scott  |  December 13, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    I would just like to say that my email was set up to post as Jim Lee Scott….

    I was going to comment on nutella…. 😛

    Reply
    • 8. Sarah  |  December 13, 2010 at 6:01 pm

      that’s better. i never got the appeal of nutella, which is surprising because it’s sugary and chocolately, so it basically has “sarah” written all over it!!!

      Reply
      • 9. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 13, 2010 at 6:28 pm

        that really surprises me!

  • 10. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  December 13, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    That pie chart made me laugh SO HARD.

    I haven’t had Nutella since the last time I was in Europe. I refuse to buy it because I will eat the entire jar in a week. (I also can’t buy that Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter. CRACK.)

    Reply
    • 11. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 14, 2010 at 8:42 am

      I have a jar of chocolate peanut butter that I’ve had for months because I’m too scared what will happen if I open it. The consequences may be bleak!

      Reply
  • 12. Mel  |  December 14, 2010 at 1:05 am

    LOL at the chart. Try this: take a flatbread, spread on nutella, then roll up a (peeled) banana. YUM! It’s like a deliciousness tunnel.

    Also: I too am hungry, all the time, regardless of whether I just had dinner or not. Breastfeeding FTW. 1000 extra calories, remember!

    Reply
    • 13. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 14, 2010 at 8:43 am

      That sounds like one delicious deliciousness tunnel!

      I feel like my appetite is the same as when I’m not bfing but being home all the time, especially in the winter, makes me eat much more than normal. Especially when Nutella is present!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

