Baingan Bharta

December 12, 2010 at 11:52 am 9 comments

Since having a baby, my weekend nights usually consist of cable television, a cup of tea, and a pair of expandable pants.  Oh, who am I kidding?  Having a baby has nothing to do with it.  For the past five years, my weekend nights have usually consisted of cable television, a cup of tea, and a pair of expandable pants.  I am what you would call “a homebody”.  I sometimes wonder if my 65 year old self will wish that my 29 year old self went out partying and dancing more, but maybe my 65 year old self will be too busy partying and dancing to care?  Now that is something to think about.

But last night was a bit different because my girlfriend, Angie, came over to make some Indian food!  She is turning 30 in July and has a list of things she would like to accomplish before this most important life event.  One of these goals is to make Indian food so we hatched a plan to make it together!  She requested that our meal include eggplant, so I utilized my university-level researching skills and typed “indian eggplant” into http://www.allrecipes.com and came upon this easy and highly rated dish!

Curry powder + tomato + plain yogurt = pretty colour

Angie says “yay Indian!”.  Henry says “I pooped’.

Served with naan, basmatic rice, and saag paneer (from a package!)

Mmmm cilantro.  I am now determined to use up the leftover cilantro before it turns bad.  Wish me luck.

What a delightful way to spend a Saturday night.  I get to hang out with one of my best friends, we eat delicious food, and I have an entire topic for a blog post.  I can’t ask for anything more!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Sick Baby Nutella: Socially Acceptable Junk Food for Lunch

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angie  |  December 12, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    I dont think I did much/any of the cooking – but I will still settle to cross this off my list. I mostly hung out with my boyfriend. Quality time in a relationship is important!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm

      Definitely cross it off your list — you did provide the ingredients and the inspiration! p.s. Henry says “hi”.

      Reply
      • 3. Sarah  |  December 13, 2010 at 11:44 am

        another match made on frugal and fit…screw the health advice, make this a dating site!!!!!!!!!!

  • 4. Erika  |  December 12, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    looks and sounds good! love the pic and the expression on henrys face!

    Reply
    • 5. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 13, 2010 at 12:40 pm

      He is a cutie! I think I will keep him.

      Reply
  • 6. Nicole @ Joyful Me  |  December 13, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Your comment from Henry seriously made me laugh out loud. And that food looks amazing! You must be feeling super accomplished lately, judging from your “daily goals” a couple of weeks ago you’ve practically run a marathon now! hehe.

    Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 13, 2010 at 12:40 pm

      It’s true; I am trying to do a lot more cooking which makes me feel better both mentally and physically. We had a rough night last night, though, so my only goal today is to bathe both of us 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Sarah  |  December 13, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Great picture of Angie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

