Sick Baby

December 11, 2010 at 1:00 pm 8 comments

I am feeling much better but poor Henry has caught my cold!  We realized it in the middle of Thursday night when he woke up and sounded like a little piggy, snorting away when trying to breathe.  There is nothing worse than a sick baby!  They are so helpless!  On Friday morning, I emailed my sister-in-law, a trained nurse, and she gave me a number of suggestions.  First, is to make sure he stays hydrated.  Luckily, this is never a problem since he loves to eat and this continued to be true throughout his illness.  Secondly, use a humidifier.  We had one stored deep in our basement shelves.  I’m not sure if it’s working properly, but the white noise it gives off seems to be helping him sleep longer and more deeply.  We also got him some saline drops to put in his nose, and an aspirator which basically sucks up the mucus.  Between wiping dirty bums and sucking up nose boogers, I have to say that this motherhood gig is messy!  Not to mention the fact that he spit up all over my yoga pants this morning.  Don’t worry, I will constantly remind him of this when he is 14.

Source of picture

I thought his sickness would just put any healthy eating/cooking plans on the back burner, but he actually seems to be sleeping more so I was able to make a loaf of Walnut Raisin Zucchini bread and Vegetable Lasagna .  At one point I was holding Henry in one arm and spreading ricotta cheese with the other.  I always kind of feel like Superwoman when I multi-task like that.

I’ve been back to making salads everyday for lunch.  I usually make them during his morning nap and then keep it in the fridge until I’m hungry.  If I waited to prepare lunch until I was hungry, I think most of my meals would consist of whatever I could quickly grab one-handed, meaning bananas, popcorn, or a bottle of ketchup (um, ew).

Aside from our daily squats routine, I haven’t been getting ANY exercise lately.  I never get the chance to go for walks.  I have done a total of 20 sit-ups since February (NOT an exaggeration!).  I have the green light to start exercising as of next Thursday when I am six weeks postpartum, but I am not holding my breath.  Maybe I will just lift Henry over my head like he is a barbell?  That sounds safe.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Couch Potato Baingan Bharta

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  December 11, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Feel better Henry! I do believe one of those mucus sucking things was purchased as a gag gift for someone back in 1997…LOL

    I need to get in shape too! Someone needs to wear a nice bathing suit in LESS than 4 months! ahhhh!!! Better start ASAP. I wonder if there are any Mommy/baby fitness classes in your area that you can join? Then you can socialize AND get in shape! I’ve always thought that if I ever have kids I am definately doing one of those…and one of those preggo fitness classes too…

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 11, 2010 at 10:20 pm

      I do not remember an aspirator being purchased as a gag gift but that is hilarious! Way to be funny, 1997 versions of us!

      Girl, you are already IN shape! Florida can’t wait to see you in a bathing suit!

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  December 11, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Sorry to hear you shared your cold with Henry. A warm washcloth on his nose helps get the boogers too. And Vicks is amazing… you can put it on his feet then in a sleeper or with socks on. And just love him up as much as you can. Its so rough when they are sick cuz they cant tell you what is wrong or what hurts. Good luck and hope he is better soon!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 11, 2010 at 10:20 pm

      I will remember the Vicks trick for next time. Thanks!

      Reply
  • 5. Nicole  |  December 12, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Hi There!

    Ok, so I know this might be strange but I love your blog and I read it all the time. I am also due with my first little baby boy in April. I just started a new personal blog (I was dealing with some privacy issues I didn’t want to publicize). It’s called “Joyful Me.” Anyway, I am going to send you an invitation to read along if you like. If you don’t want to, that’s cool too- I’ll just assume Henry is keeping you too busy doing lunges :). Thanks for the laughs!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 12, 2010 at 11:21 am

      Congrats on the baby boy! You are in for SUCH a treat. Just make sure to sleep lots now, which is a cliche thing to say to a pregnant woman but it’s true!

      Thanks for the blog invite. I graciously accept your invitation! You are too cute, by the way 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Clare  |  December 12, 2010 at 8:43 am

    I remember when one of my babies had a cold a nurse told me to put a drop or two of breastmilk into his nose. This is easier said than done but I swear it worked to ease the congestion. It’s so sad when they are making all those little snorty noises 😦
    When my first baby was about two months old I did an aerobics class at our local rec centre for moms and babies. It was right around nap time so the babies all slept (or watched) in their carseats at the back of the aerobics room while we all jumped around. At the end there were stretches and games involving the babies (if they were awake by then).
    Going for lots of walks is really good too for the fresh air and sunshine. As long as it’s not too far below freezing and baby is well bundled you are good to go. All my children were born in January so I made it a point to try and get out for lots of little walks so as not to get total cabin fever 🙂 Feel better soon, Henry!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 12, 2010 at 11:22 am

      Wow, breast milk in the nose? What CAN’T breast milk do, eh? Amazing!

      I really want to go for some walks. My husband works mostly in the evening so he could even watch Henry during the late morning while I go out for 30 minutes or so. It’s tough because there always seems to be something to do around the house, be it dishes or folding laundry or even just sitting WITHOUT a baby in my arms. New motherhood is all about prioritizing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

