Still sick

December 8, 2010 at 10:01 am 11 comments

Over the past 5 weeks, there have been many instances when I have thought to myself that motherhood is the hardest, most selfless job in the world, but, boy, did I ever realize it yesterday!  The best part about being sick is being about to stay in bed for 10 hours at a time, but when you have a baby, this is just not possible.  My hair is disheveled, I’ve got Kleenexes in my nose, my muscles ache, I’m coughing up phlegm…and I’ve got to cater to my wee boy, he who wakes up every 1.5 hours, he who thinks it is fun to stay WIDE AWAKE between 4 and 5:30 am, he whose favourite thing (aside from eating) is being held by someone doing lunges.  No joke!  He loves being held by someone doing deep, wide squats.  I realized yesterday that I did squats on a daily basis when I was pregnant in an attempt to strengthen my legs for childbirth.  I guess he got used to them in utero and has decided he wants me to keep up the good work.  He is like a pint-sized personal trainer!

In other news…

Because I am sick, I had every intention yesterday to eat as healthfully as possible.  I ate fruit salad for breakfast and drank my weight in green tea.  But there is something about being sick that makes me want to eat junk, and I ate A LOT.  Christmas treats have infiltrated my house and I am powerless against their righteous forces!  Of course, all of that sugar and fat just ends up making me feel ten times worse in the end.  WHEN WILL I LEARN?!!?

So I begin today – again – with the intentions to eat as healthfully as possible.  Somehow, I managed to make myself oat bran for breakfast.  This involved putting Henry down, racing to the kitchen for 30 seconds, then racing back to him because he, of course, was crying (I wasn’t doing squats after all!).  I managed to make this in these 30 second increments and I ate it while nursing.  Multi-talented!

Just plain oat bran with raspberries, blueberries and a bit of cinnamon.  This is lacking in protein so I will probably have some milk for a snack.  Unlike other hot cereals, I like to eat oat bran without any milk, yogurt, or sugar.  Oat bran is a great alternative to oats because it offers more soluble fibre which soaks up and eliminates harmful LDL cholesterol.  It is also lower in calories than regular oats and it has a slightly better nutrient profile too, with higher amounts of protein, iron, vitamin B and vitamin E.  And, no, I did not just know this off the top of my head.  This is courtesy of the January 2011 issue of Chatelaine magazine 🙂

I have already made a giant green salad for today’s lunch so I am good until suppertime, binges on Christmas treats not withstanding.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Sick Mama Couch Potato

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  December 8, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Hugs, my love. It’s so hard to be sick, especially with a wee one! Hopefully he isn’t sick too.

    ps. I also like to eat tons of junk when I’m sick. I hate it!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 8, 2010 at 10:33 am

      I thought he sounded a bit congested yesterday, but his disposition is the same so here’s hoping the magical juice that is breast milk keeps him full of antibodies!

      What is up with the love of junk food when sick? I guess it’s a comfort thing, which makes sense.

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  December 8, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Can I borrow Henry twice a week for about an hour? I’ll pay him with love and lots of squats and lunges. Let’s work out a contract!

    Reply
  • 5. Dolores  |  December 8, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Hi Robyn! I’m so glad to see you’re posting again, but sorry to hear that you’re sick. I wish you a speedy recovery. Looking forward to reading about Henry’s (mis)adventures 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 8, 2010 at 10:34 am

      So great to hear from you! When I am feeling better, you should come over for a visit and meet Henry! I am available pretty much ANY TIME 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Erika  |  December 8, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    it is hard being sick with a child. you feel even worse! drink lots and rest when you can. hope you dont share your bug with him! get well soon! xoxo

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 8, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      It is like being sick x 2! But we will survive. Thanks for the kind wishes!

      Reply
  • 9. Sarah  |  December 8, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    henry…or should i say tommy europe?

    remember that old fitness instructor we nicknamed the squatzi? i think we have found her match!!!!

    mommy sick – that is also how being sick and living alone is… if you can’t reach it from your bed, you can’t have it… 😦 the cats are no help….

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 9, 2010 at 9:18 am

      oh yeah, i remember the squatzi! henry is the new squatzi! i am going to start calling him that, actually!

      Reply
      • 11. Sarah  |  December 9, 2010 at 11:00 am

        those classes were fun…i used to workout FIVE times week back then!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

