Sick Mama

December 7, 2010 at 8:56 am 6 comments

I am sick.  Insert frowny face here.

Source of picture

It’s not a big cold or anything, just a sore throat and a runny nose, but it still bites!  Since I am already running on low sleep, I thought I’d wake up this morning feeling like the walking dead, but Henry was pretty good last night.  He slept in two three-hour chunks which is practically a normal amount of sleep!  It was as if he knew his poor Mama just couldn’t handle his usual interruptions timed about 1.5 hours apart (I know, don’t get me started!).

Since I am fighting this virus, I am trying to eat healthfully today (meaning no donuts for breakfast!).  I had a mixed fruit salad of banana, raspberries, blueberries, pineapple and grapes and a whole wheat bagel with natural peanut butter.  Instead of my usual (MUCH LOVED) morning coffee, I am having some decaffeinated green tea.

We have plans to go visit friends north of the city, visit Husband’s parents, and go shopping, but I just don’t want to infect everyone so we’ll likely cancel.  It’s too bad, too, because I love excursions outside of the house!  It’s like I’m a dog.  You have to spell out the word W-A-L-K instead of saying it or else I will grab my leash and start scratching at the door 😉

******************************************************

There are only 24 days left of 2010 and I am beginning to think about my New Years Resolutions.  I am a huge fan of the resolution-making process.  When I spent my New Years Eves with my friends, I’d force everyone to go around in a circle and state their resolutions.  Surprisingly, most people do not share my love for this tradition!

Usually I make a list of things I’d like to change, but there is always one resolution that comes first.  One year, I resolved to maintain eye contact with people when I spoke to them.  Another year, it was to take a photograph each day of the year.  The eye contact resolution worked.  In fact, I think it helped me, in part, land my Husband!  The photograph-a-day resolution did not.  I think I lasted until early March before my efforts were thwarted by that nasty little habit called laziness (How I know it well).

I have already started brainstorming possible resolutions for 2011.  Of course, you will have to tune in on January 1, 2011 to read about that!  <– This is not just a ploy to increase site traffic!  Or maybe it is!

Source of picture

**************************************************

GOALS FOR TODAY:

1.  Drink lots of green tea, even though I’d much prefer coffee

2.  Sit on my arse and watch PVR’d television

3.  Keep Kleenex within arm’s reach at all times or else deal with unfortunate ramifications

4.  Try not to infect Henry with my virus, even though he is attached to me 16 hours a day

5.  Milk this for all its worth

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Five Confessions Still sick

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  December 7, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Aww! Sorry to hear you’re feeling crummy! Hopefully it’s nothing major and will be gone soon!

    I’m a big resolution person as well but I’m just a fan of goal-making in general. I tend to have “themes” for the year, like “patience” or “understanding” and that bleeds into everything else! I haven’t started thinking about 2011’s theme yet though!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 7, 2010 at 9:36 am

      I like the idea of having a theme for the year. I have also heard of having a word to define the year, which I guess is similar to having a theme! I always love to hear what people resolve to do 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  December 7, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    awe… being sick sucks! hope it passes quickly and you get well soon!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 8, 2010 at 9:42 am

      Thanks Erika! I am feeling slightly better today. I just wish I was able to have a long, deep sleep :/

      Reply
  • 5. Mel  |  December 8, 2010 at 12:19 am

    Breastfeeding may help Henry avoid the cold… your body is making antibodies to fight it and H is getting them in your milk! Nature is a genius 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 8, 2010 at 9:42 am

      He sounds a bit congested, but his temperament is the same so here’s hoping the miracle juice is working! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

