Vegetarian Fail

December 3, 2010 at 8:39 am 6 comments

Warning: Primo Amore Tuscan Beans Soup is NOT vegetarian.

I repeat:  NOT vegetarian.

I made the epic mistake of not reading the ingredient list before chowing down.  I was definitely picking up on some weird texture issues during my first few spoonfuls, so I checked out the ingredient list only to find out I was actually consuming bacon.  10+ years of bacon-free living and it all went to pot yesterday!  Horrors!

********************************************************

In other news, we bought a new bed this week, upgrading from a double to a queen-sized mattress.  I have two things to say about this:

1.  It is soooooo comfortable!  The only problem is that it is so comfortable it is now even harder to get up when Henry cries, which he does every two hours.  I do not want to leave my bed of pillow-top goodness to change and feed a crying newborn!

2.  FRUGAL TIP: To make a very long story short, we were able to negotiate over $300 off our mattress/box spring/frame set by telling Sleep Country Canada that we found a better deal at The Bay (true story).  I was surprised by how quickly they offered this much-reduced price and it made me realize that there really is room for haggling when making major purchases like furniture.  I will definitely use this tactic when I go ahead and finally buy that 12-person jacuzzi!  😉

*******************************************************

My goals today include the following:

1.  Wash dishes

2.  Have a nap

3.  Bake sugar cookies!!!  <– Am I asking too much from the world, aka Henry?

This list must look so simple to those without 4 week olds, but trust a blogger:  I am playing with Old Man Time or whoever is in charge of time management when I hope to both nap and bake within a single day.  If I achieve both, I will be one happy Mommy (with a mouthful of sugar cookie!).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Christmas Gifts Sugar Cookies

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  December 3, 2010 at 10:58 am

    reb taught me from day one to read the labels… you can’t even trust campbells vegetable soup..you have to buy “vegetable soup for vegetarians”.

    this sounds eerily like my experience with bacon a few months ago. did the soup taste good though? lol jim lee scott will never let me live that one down….

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 3, 2010 at 12:50 pm

      yes, it tasted good! lol don’t tell the carnivores!

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  December 3, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Oh I HATE that! I find that gelatin and anchovie paste will ensure that I’ll never be 100% vegetarian, they sneak those suckers in EVERYWHERE (including margine and some calcium pills). I’ve really had to start reading labels on things I never thought I would have to.

    It’s amazing how much animal there is in the stuff we eat!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 3, 2010 at 12:51 pm

      yikes, margarine and calcium pills? you’re right, it’s amazing how many animal products are in the items we consume!

      Reply
  • 5. Jennifer  |  December 14, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    My veggie boyfriend and I just made the EXACT same mistake. #$%@&% !!! It should be REQUIRED labelling for everything that has meat of any type in it. It really ticks me off. I almost ate a bowl of Dill Cucumber soup that was based with chicken broth a month ago.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 15, 2010 at 7:10 am

      I concur! I bet there are many others who made this mistake too. At least we aren’t alone! lol

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

