Sugar Cookies

December 3, 2010 at 2:57 pm 12 comments

What’s this?  Two posts in one day?  It’s like it’s June 2010 all over again!

I guess I am just excited to show off the sugar cookies I made today.  I completed these in a series of steps timed with Henry’s naps.  He is still in the nap he started when I iced these babies, so I’ve got to make this quick!

If there is one recipe I bake at Christmas, it is this one.  I think I have officially decided that these are going to be the cookies that I am known for, the cookies that Henry will immediately associate with all the Christmases of his childhood.  The only problem is that it’s not my recipe.  It’s my friend Sarah’s!

Here she is innocently holding Henry, not knowing that his mother is a cookie-recipe-stealer!!!

With her permission, I am sharing the recipe with you.  All together now:  THANK YOU, SARAH!!!

Sarah’s Sugar Cookies

Makes 2 dozen

1/2 cup butter or margarine (I’ve only ever used butter)

1 cup sugar

1 egg

2 tablespoons of milk

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1.  In a medium bowl, beat butter, sugar, egg, milk, and vanilla until light and fluffy.  Add the flour, baking powder and salt and beat until blended.

2.  Divide dough into two equal portions, wrap in saran wrap, and refrigerate until firm (about an hour).

3.  Before baking, allow the dough to stand at room temperature until soft enough to roll out.  Roll the dough out and use your favourite cookie cutters to cut them into shapes!  Place on ungreased baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 7-10 minutes.

Trees, stars, and stockings:  It must be Christmas!

Ready to be iced, iced baby

It is not natural to eat food with these colours, and yet it feels so right

I made little “snowballs” using the leftover dough

Sarah has a different recipe for icing.  I found mine online a few years ago and like it because:

1.  It has a subtle almond flavour

2.  It hardens so storing these cookies is a bit easier (icing doesn’t get all over the place)

Here is my recipe for 2 dozen cookies:

2 cups of icing sugar

4 teaspoons of milk

4 teaspoons of corn syrup

1/2 teaspoon of almond extract

Assorted food colouring

1.  In a small bowl, stir together the icing sugar and milk.  Beat in corn syrup and extract until icing is smooth and glossy.  If it’s too thick, add more milk.

2.  Divide into separate bowls and add food colouring.

3.  Decorate as you see fit!  Sprinkles are welcome.

**************************************************************

I hope to bring these cookies to Henry’s first Christmas party tomorrow, but I’m not sure they will last that long.  Indeed, they are that good.  Again, thanks Sarah!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Vegetarian Fail Smile

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  December 3, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    MMM!!! I LOVE sugar cookies!!! That reminds me, my boyfriend makes some pretty good ones, I’m going to have to bug him into making some!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 3, 2010 at 6:58 pm

      They are so simple and yet so superior to so many “fancy” cookies, y’know? That is why I’m sticking by these! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. andrea @ a cake for a wife.  |  December 3, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Wow, I’m impressed! I haven’t gotten to any of my baking yet and I don’t even a newborn! Hmmm.

    I’ve been looking for a good sugar cookie recipe — what are these one like? Are they the crunchy kind or soft and chewy? Dense? Fluffy?

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 3, 2010 at 7:00 pm

      I am known for underbaking cookies so these are soft and chewy, although they harden with time. I would say they are fluffy rather than dense. They are definitely the best sugar cookies I have ever had!

      Btw, I’m so glad to revisit your blog and see you are back to blogging!

      Reply
  • 5. Sarah  |  December 3, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    wow, my first blog shout out… 😛

    HOWEVER:

    you can’t be known for these cookies since they are mine…LOL besides, they are nothing without LARGE amounts of buttercream frosting…MMMMMMMMMMM

    but i will still miss them tomorrow… save me some!!! i’ll be in your neighbourhood this weekend!!!! do you do home delivery? 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 3, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      It’s true! I will only be known for these cookies in the Sarah-free circles I run. Haha. I would save you some but Husband has already moved some from the tupperware going tomorrow to the tupperware that is staying here. Everybody loves these!

      Reply
  • 7. Angie  |  December 3, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    The cookies might not make the trip!!! YUMM!!!

    Reply
  • 9. erica @ fashionmeetsfood  |  December 3, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Those cookies look adorable and amazing! I am your newest follower.

    xo

    Reply
  • 11. Erika  |  December 7, 2010 at 12:08 am

    awesome cookies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

