How to lose 26 pounds in 3 weeks

December 1, 2010 at 11:54 am 5 comments

Our laptop has been living in the basement/rumpus room/man cave for the past few days and I guess “out of sight, out of mind” is true because I never thought to walk down the whopping 12 steps or so to actually, y’know, blog!  Of course, I had no problem going down those same steps to watch TV…funny how that works…

It’s been an absolutely crazy few days.  I left the house three days in a row!  Alert the media!  On Saturday, we went to the baby shower.  On Sunday, we visited family.  And on Monday we went to not only a midwife appointment but out to breakfast at Cora’s AND shopping at Zellers.

Happy to be out in society and with a sleeping baby to boot!

At Cora’s, I ordered the eggs benedict with mushrooms and brie.  I love how they cut up the fruit all fancy.  Looks at that apple.  That is just nuts!   This was a very happy moment.

The little man slept through the entire breakfast and, aside from a parking lot feeding, through the entire shopping trip too.  I think I have been blessed with a baby who zonks out during car rides and for that I say to the Universe a resounding THANK YOU.

***************************************************

I am also quite thankful because at my in-laws on Sunday, I finally got the chance to weigh myself and I am down 26 pounds from four weeks ago.  I am just six pounds away from my pre-pregnancy weight and 15 pounds away from the weight I would “like” to be.  Overall, I am surprised by how well my body has bounced back from pregnancy and childbirth, especially my stomach.  I was mentally prepared for a stretched out flab of skin, but it looks like the wonderful Universe that has granted me a baby that loves car rides has also blessed me with miraculous skin.  I really can’t ask for anything more.

But I will, since it’s Christmas!

I wrote out my wish list for Husband yesterday.  It includes:

1.  A Christmas wreath

Source of picture

2.  A non-digital scale

Source of picture

3.  Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi

Source of picture

4.  A subscription to Mothering magazine

Source of picture

Santa has 24 days to make it happen!

***************************************************

Henry turns 4 weeks old tomorrow and I feel like there has been a positive change in his routine and sleeping habits the past few days.  For one, he is sleeping a bit longer at a time.  Instead of waking every two hours during the night, he can sleep for 3.5 hours which makes a world of difference!  During the day, too, he is sleeping longer.  I attribute these longer sleeps to 1) being swaddled in my favourite invention of all time and 2) going in his swing, my second favourite invention.  The swing goes in two motions:  either side-to-side or front-to-back.  At the beginning, I had it side-to-side but front-to-back seems to lull him into sleep much more easily.  More importantly, it keeps him asleep!  I swear, without that thing there would be no Frugal ‘n’ Fit anymore!

Speaking of frugality, I received my first maternity leave benefit payment yesterday.  I had no idea how much it would be, so now that I know what I can expect, I can rework my budget to suit me for the next 11 months.  Of course, making any sort of budget in December isn’t the best idea, since Christmas shopping seems to overpower any sort of good intentions…so…talk to me in January!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

I was showered Christmas Gifts

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erika  |  December 1, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Car rides, swaddling, and baby swings are all life savers when it comes to soothing babies! Glad to hear everything is going so well 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 1, 2010 at 4:48 pm

      I feel like we are getting into a good routine and I know what he needs to feel better now, which always involves either constant movement or food! haha

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  December 1, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    nice new glasses! good to see you out in public! 🙂

    reb says ‘unbearable lightness’ is really good. i suggest iain gets you that because if he buys you a wreath it’s useless by the time christmas rolls around….lol

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  December 2, 2010 at 11:29 am

      The glasses were intended just for use during middle-of-the-night feedings but have since morphed into a constant accessory. Easier to put on than contacts when baby is erupting!

      Reply
      • 5. Sarah  |  December 2, 2010 at 11:41 am

        ahhh very mommy chic…lol i need to get me some new glasses, update the celine dion’s….

        i had to laugh when i saw them though, because of the story of when they called you to pick them up!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

