Baby Shower

November 27, 2010 at 11:20 am 4 comments

Today I am being showered!  Not the kind of shower that requires me to jump in and out within 5 minutes to appease the crying baby, but the type in which people bring me gifts and we eat delicious food together!  This shower is a bit unusual in that it won’t include the various female friends and family members who surround me in life.  It’s a much more intimate gathering with just my six best girl friends.  I prefer smaller groups and don’t always like being the centre of attention, so this is the perfect situation for me.  Plus it’s being held at the new condo of a friend, a condo that has an indoor swimming pool!  Not sure if Henry will allow old Mom to go in for a dip, but I am packing my swimsuit just in case.

Source of picture

**************************************************************

I am writing this entry while Henry is encased in my Moby wrap.  He gets agitated if I sit still, preferring the rocking and bouncing that he experienced while in the womb, so I am writing this while rocking back and forth.  I just wanted to give you that visual to perfectly set the scene of your author at work 😉

***************************************************************

Rocking back and forth is made easier because I’ve got the radio constantly tuned in to 98.1 FM, a station that ONLY plays Christmas music!  Since I’m probably not going to put up a tree this year and my cookie-baking will be severely limited, Christmas music is the one tradition I can practice this year.  Same with Christmas movies!  My favourite Christmas movie is, hands down, A Christmas Story.  I also love the Garfield Christmas Special.  I have seen Home Alone about 50 times which is not an exaggeration.  What is it about Christmas music and movies that gives a person such a great feeling?  Of course, not every one experiences this great feeling (ex. my Husband is not such a fan of Christmas music but puts up with it since I gave him “his heir” — his words!).  But I can listen to the same tunes and watch the same movies over and over and never get sick of them.  The magic of Christmas I guess!

Source of picture

Out of all the sweet, beautiful pictures one can find when Googling “Christmas magic”, this is the one I chose.  What is he holding?  Why is he so serious, it’s Christmas!?

These are the questions I ponder.

***********************************

As you can tell from the content of this entry, which contains nothing to do with either frugality or fitness, I am making a concerted effort to write in here more often, regardless if I really have anything to say.  I just feel more productive and connected when I write each day since my days otherwise blend into a cycle of nursing, napping, ninja (???), running around trying to clean up my house, watching Oprah and Conan on PVR, and repeat!  I am mostly housebound these days and am deeply appreciative of the Internet.  I wonder what it would be like to be a new mom before the Internet was around?  I don’t have any family in Toronto and very few friends, so the emails, blogs, Facebook, websites etc. provide a huge emotional comfort to me.  Plus it is always fun to watch random videos on Youtube.  Lord, what did we do before Youtube?

One day I watched all of the SNL Digital Shorts I could find online.  Thank you, maternity leave.

And, on that note, I bid you adieu!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Black Friday I was showered

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jim Lee Scott  |  November 27, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Housebound?? wrap that baby up and take him out.. 🙂 If it is that bad maybe Iain should take the last 6 months of your maternity leave……

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 28, 2010 at 8:10 am

      Jim, I thought your name was John?

      Iain can take the maternity leave when he grows some functional boobs.

      I forgot to give Sars your coat last night! Remind Iain to bring it to you.

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  November 27, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Hope your ladies showered you and Henry with lots of great goodies! Winter is an especially hard time to have a newborn, as you feel stuck at home. But its nice, and you get to bond so much more. I look forward to this winter with my babies!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 28, 2010 at 8:11 am

      They definitely did! It was an excellent shower 🙂

      I like your optimism and agree that I don’t mind too much spending the cold winter days cuddled with my baby boy. It’s not a bad way to live at all!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

