Black Friday

November 26, 2010 at 1:52 pm 6 comments

A couple of days ago I wrote a riveting (absolutely riveting!) entry about making applesauce, but I wrote it using an apparently defunct WordPress app on my iPhone so it never published!  I suppose I could figure out a way of copying-and-pasting the draft into Safari and updating that way, but I am already over the applesauce post.  The gist is that I made some applesauce and it was delicious.  The end.

So today is Black Friday!  I am Canadian, so technically it is not Black Friday (just Regular Friday), however since 98% of our media outlets are based in the U.S., I am fully enthralled by the entire concept of Black Friday.

First of all, how did it get the name Black Friday? Wikipedia, that most trusted source of information (about 50% of the time), says that it got its name in Philadelphia to describe the heavy traffic that came the day after Thanksgiving.  Philadelphia, I should have known.  First cream cheese, and now this!

Second of all, who in their right mind would want to go shopping on Black Friday with the crowds, the lines and the stress?  I start sweating just thinking about it.

Third of all, you mean they are selling high-def TVs for HOW MUCH?!!?

The only way I would participate in Black Friday is if online outlets like Amazon offer similar deals that I could purchase from the comfort of my own home while wearing yoga pants and sipping a cup of green tea.  I just don’t think any amazing sale could pull me away from my post-Thanksgiving stupor with my belly full of tofurkey and pumpkin pie.

Source of picture

 

***********************************************

In other news, I just tried on my pre-pregnancy jeans and they fit!  I have to keep my stomach sucked in the entire time and can’t sit down, but they fit!  Who needs oxygen or rest anyway?  Hurrah!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Small Victories Baby Shower

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  November 26, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Hey, guess what? Head over to Amazon (either .com or .ca)…

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 26, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      Ooh la la!!! Now I just need to brew a cup of green tea…:)

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  November 26, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    jeans? i thought you were going to veg out in yoga pants for your entire mat leave? don’t give up now! 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 27, 2010 at 10:55 am

      It was just an experiment to confirm that, indeed, yoga pants for the next 11 months is the only way to exist 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  November 27, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Good for you! It was over a year till I fit in jeans again. Then it was nice to be preggo again to get back into yoga pants and maternity shirts 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 28, 2010 at 8:13 am

      Yes, I ONLY wear yoga and jogging pants now and I’m not sure I ever want to go back to tight-fitting pants. There is just no benefit to them! lol

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

