Small Victories

November 22, 2010 at 3:22 pm 4 comments

2.5 weeks into this gig called motherhood and it has been a roller coaster!  I can go from totally overwhelmed and sleep-deprived to completely blissed out in a matter of a couple of hours.  I’ve heard this is common among those with newborns.  Even though I’ve spent the past couple of nights sleeping upright (LONG story), I must be getting 5 or so hours of sleep per night because I’ve been feeling pretty good.  Last night I managed to make pasta with marinara sauce.  I even added soy ground round, zucchini, onions, garlic, and mushrooms to the sauce.  Being able to make a dinner like that feels like a victory!  Every time I wash a sink of dishes or put away a basket of laundry, I feel like I’ve accomplished a major task.  Since I spend 90% of my time in my living room/dining room (see “nights sleeping upright” above), I like to keep it relatively tidy.  It helps keep me sane (sanity is in short supply these days!).

A great friend came by last week to take pictures of Henry and I received them last night.  They are wonderful!

And on that note — baby cries!  Must go! 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

This post is brought to you by the Fisher-Price “Cradle ‘n’ Swing” Black Friday

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erika  |  November 23, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    it will get easier. but you need to take time for yourself. love the pics of henry. cant wait to see more!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 25, 2010 at 6:52 pm

      You are totally right, Erika! With time, I think I will get better with time management 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Clare  |  November 25, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Hi! Lurker here…I have been behind on my blog reading lately but thought I’d check in today to see if you had your baby. Congratulations! He is adorable and may I say that I LOVE the name you chose (my youngest is a Henry!). Congrats again and best of luck to you and your family. Regarding the sleep thing…getting 5 hours at this stage is AWESOME and don’t underestimate the amount that sleep deprivation can mess around with your moods and emotions. I remember feeling completely overwhelmed by the smallest things…it DOES get easier; I promise 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 25, 2010 at 6:55 pm

      Henrys unite! Or maybe that should be “mothers of henrys unite”! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by even though I have been a very inconsistent blogger of late. I think I have a pretty good excuse ;). So glad to hear that it gets easier. I need to remember this at 4 am, an hour I know all too well!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

