This post is brought to you by the Fisher-Price “Cradle ‘n’ Swing”

November 18, 2010 at 10:07 am 5 comments

A moment of respite before my little angel starts wailing.  I am watching him now in his swing.  He is content, but his eyes are open.  I love when he is just chilling out and looking around, taking in all there is to see in his new world.  Without fail, though, his chilled demeanor morphs into a monster; a hungry, unhappy baby monster!  I try to enjoy these brief  little breaks as much as I can while they last.  This usually means I:

1.  Go to the washroom

2.  Blog!

I would really like to take a shower but that would probably be asking too much.

*********************************************************

Yesterday I achieved my two goals of writing Christmas cards and making dinner.  By the time Husband came home at 5, though, I was absolutely tuckered and had to fuel myself with apple juice in order to have the energy to make the tofu stir fry.  I did it, though!  It was just “meh”.  I always try to be frugal and fit by making my own stir fry sauce using soy sauce, pineapple juice, ginger, garlic and honey, but it’s never flavorful enough.  I think I need to either follow a recipe next time or just by a bottle of sauce.  I know, horrors!  Bottled sauce!  Sacrilege!  But desperate times call for desperate measures.  And if having a two-week old isn’t a desperate time, I don’t know what is!

*********************************************************

Since I have been housebound for the past two weeks, we’ve rented a ton of movies.  Man, what did new moms do before movie rentals?  Also:  Before Facebook, PVRs, cable television, iPhones etc. etc.?  I have never loved technology as much as I do when I am nursing a cranky baby at 3 in the morning, let me tell you!

We have rented:

The Kids are Alright: Excellent movie starring Annette Bening and Julianne Moore as a lesbian couple raising two teenagers whose biological dad enters the picture…  I think Annette Bening is one of my favourite actresses, and I love that she has obviously had no plastic surgery!

Get Him to the Greek:  A funny, mindless, comedic romp.  Russell Brand is pretty hilarious, although his pants are way too tight.  We all have our faults, eh?

You Don’t Know Jack: Starring Al Pacino, a movie about Jack Kevorkian, the doctor who made headlines in the 1990s for helping terminally ill patients commit suicide.  I was just a kid when he received so much media attention about his role as “Dr. Death” so it was interesting to learn the details about him.  Of course, Al Pacino is fantastic in this role.  Of course!

Please Give: An “indie” movie about a bourgeoisie NYC family who buys the apartment next to them and is basically waiting for the renter to die so they can remodel and expand their apartment.  Of course there are many more details and nuances to this story.  Great acting too!  Starring Catherine Keener and Oliver Platt.  Sidenote: I love the name Oliver Platt.

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World: I could love this movie for all its “shout outs” to Toronto alone.  The characters read the actual local weeklies and Scott’s sister works at Second Cup, a classic Canadian coffee shop chain!  There is even a scene in front of the club where my Husband occasionally DJs on Monday nights.  Loved that!  The story is themed like a video game:  Scott must fight the seven evil exes of his love interest, Ramona, in order to win her affection.  Lots of action in this one.  I hate action movies, but since this one has clever dialogue, interesting characters, and a fresh concept, I liked it a lot.  Plus it stars the adorable Michael Cera who just makes everything better.

To be frugal, I rent movies via http://www.zip.ca.  For just over $6 a month, I get two movies mailed to my house with postage-paid return envelopes.  I could have unlimited movies for $11 a month!  The only downside to this program is that if there is a movie you are really anxious to see, it often takes months for it to actually arrive.  But they say that patience is a virtue, so maybe it is still worth it in the end?  These days, we’ve just been renting movies from Rogers or Blockbuster.  Husband says a movie rental is $7 each!  That is expensive in itself, but not bad when compared to the theatre.

*********************************************************

No pictures today.  Actually, since the middle of my review of Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World, I have written this entry while simultaneously nursing Henry, at times with just one finger!  See my commitment to blogging?  You’re welcome 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

On my own Small Victories

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  November 18, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Glad to hear you’re keeping yourself occupied AND learning cool new skills that will take you far in the future!

    I’ve wanted to see The Kids Are Alright so glad to hear a good recommendation!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 19, 2010 at 9:07 am

      I definitely recommend The Kids are Alright! It has got the Frugal ‘n’ Fit Seal of Approval 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  November 18, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    get him to the greek – did you have the same “where is this going???” confused look on your face like we did when we watched it? i think the best part was the fuzzy walls 🙂

    p.s. make hubby watch henry for 10 mins and have a quick shower! i’m sure it will make you feel loads better!!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 19, 2010 at 9:08 am

      Russell Brand is pretty hilarious. I just watched him on Conan the other night and he is so intelligent too! I want to read his “Booky Wook”. haha.

      Hubby was at work when I had my shower craving, so I caved and poor Henry had a good five minutes of screaming. Oh well, as my 97-year old grandma says, it’s good for his lungs! lol

      Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  November 19, 2010 at 9:31 am

    glad to hear you finally got your shower in. i was starting to worry… lol happy 2 weeks henry!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

