On my own

November 17, 2010 at 11:49 am 6 comments

Today is the first day that Husband is back at work after his two-week paternity leave.  We really timed my labour well.  I started feeling contractions at 1 am on Husband’s first day off.  Way to go, uterus!

Alas, he is back at work today, and now I truly feel like a Stay-At-Home-Mom; a somewhat overwhelmed yet optimistic Stay-At-Home-Mom.

Intimidated, I decided to give myself just two goals for today:

1.  Start writing my Christmas cards

2.  Make dinner (I haven’t made dinner since giving birth!)

Of course, there is always the daily goal of keeping Henry fed, changed, and content which I think I have accomplished based on this photographic evidence alone…

The world needs more polar bear sleepers

He is constantly drifting off to sleep but only has one or two “heavy” naps a day that last a couple of hours each and allow me to actually, like, put him down.  This is heavy nap #1 for the day so I’ve been scrambling to get things done!

I’ve got about half of my Christmas cards written.  Such a feeling of accomplishment!

I am planning on making tofu stirfry tonight, so I did some of the prep this morning…

Cubed tofu and sliced carrots, zucchini, and green pepper.  I’ll add some frozen veg to the mix later on.

I also hard-boiled some eggs for easy protein-consuming-purposes.  Basically, anything I can eat with one hand is ideal at this point in my life.

I am trying to continue with my lunchtime salads, but since I had a Green Monster for breakfast, I thought I’d break up the monotony and try some soup for lunch.  This is today’s selection.

If I eat the whole can, that just gives me a little over 200 calories, so I will also have a toasted bagel with peanut butter.

Half-way through Day One and I think I am doing a pretty good job.  I could use an extra hundred couple hours of sleep, but what new mom couldn’t?  I am just grateful that on this rainy, grey November day, I get to stay home with my little boy and wear yoga pants while doing so.

See?  Dreams DO come true!  🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Gigantes This post is brought to you by the Fisher-Price “Cradle ‘n’ Swing”

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  November 17, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    You’re going to be the best stay-at-home-mom EVER!

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  November 17, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    it looks like henry is dreaming of being at karma…he’s totally fist pumping in his sleep!

    Reply
  • 5. Erika  |  November 18, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Being a Mommy is the best job in the world. Henry is such a sweetheart!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 18, 2010 at 9:37 am

      Aww, thanks Erika! It’s the best job, but the hardest too. It would be nice if we were compensated with a bit more sleep, eh? 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

