Gigantes

November 15, 2010 at 1:08 pm 7 comments

With a new baby comes many generous visitors who bring gifts of toys, clothes, and food!  At this point, I am enjoying the gifts of food the most, because I have 0% inclination to cook and -20% inclination to wash any dishes.

One of the most interesting dishes I received was an entree called “Gigantes”.  I had never heard of it before.  A little googling taught me that it’s a Greek Lima Bean dish.  I don’t even remember the last time I had lima beans, and I was curious about their nutritional content.  As I suspected, they are pretty healthy for you!  Except if consumed raw, in which case they are toxic (?!!?).

I was under direct orders to serve this dish with feta cheese and crusty bread.  Thankfully, I am a huge fan of both feta cheese and crusty bread, especially when given to me for free!  This was last night’s dinner:

Speaking of feta, check out this giant (700 grams!) tub of feta that Husband bought today.  I have used my son’s head for size comparison purposes.  I am a great mother!

Before you go and call Child Services, please note that I know you are not supposed to leave a baby with loose blankets and pillows, especially when they are sleeping on their side, but he is sleeping right beside me and I am checking his breathing approximately once every 25 seconds.

We had a rough night last night — I am blaming my choice of caffeinated coffee at 8 pm! — so I am enjoying this little break.  A sleeping baby means I get to have one of these for lunch!

My goals for the rest of the day include:

– Practice with my Moby wrap (persnickety things, but once mastered are amazing!)

– Write out a list of Christmas card recipients

– Nap?

– Help with making dinner

I only have Husband for one more day until he has to go back to work.  I am not looking forward to that at all.  You mean I am going to have to get my own glass of water and do the laundry myself?  Ugh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

1000 calories On my own

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erika  |  November 15, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    thats a whole lotta feta! love henry’s hair, more pics of him would be nice 🙂 here or on facebook… hint, hint… xo

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 15, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      I’ve slowed down on the picture taking, but I can’t wait to receive (and post!) the professional ones that were taken on Saturday!

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  November 15, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    add me to the list! i don’t know if john lee scott is deserving of one though…. 😛

    p.s. make henry do the laundry…isn’t that what kids are for?

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 15, 2010 at 6:46 pm

      I think you will have to share a Christmas card with Mr. Scott. I hope that is OK 😉

      How much longer until Henry can rub Mommy’s feet? lol

      Reply
  • 5. John Lee Scott  |  November 16, 2010 at 2:08 am

    Your nothing but a slave driver…..

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 16, 2010 at 5:59 am

      Oh you love it!

      Reply
      • 7. Sarah  |  November 16, 2010 at 5:39 pm

        that’s why he keeps leaving those comments…. 😛

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

