1000 calories

November 13, 2010 at 11:27 am 4 comments

This is the precious mid-morning time when my Henry is in a deep sleep and I can go around folding laundry, doing dishes, and – most importantly – BLOG!  Laundry is folded, dishes are washed, so now I get to spend a little time with my laptop, talking about me, myself, and I.  I’ve got my giant cup of coffee right next to me and the house is silent.

And…exhaaaaaaaale.

It took about four days of difficult adjusting and one night of weepiness, but I think I am getting a hang of this motherhood thing.  For those who care about this sort of thing, here are some tips that I have learned in my whopping nine days of motherhood!

1.  Henry is an energetic little fella.  He was in the womb and he is out here!  I think all of his movement wakes him from deep sleeps, so I’ve found that swaddling him before bed gives him longer rests (2-3 hours — I will take what I can get!).  He also wakes up without crying (er, sometimes).  I am in love with this product.  I want to give it to everyone I know, even people without babies 😉

2.  On average, I’ve been waking up around six times a night with Henry, but this decreased once I started nursing him in bed.  Nursing while lying down can’t be done until one is comfortable with nursing in the standard, upright position, but since Henry is an Expert Nurser, we were able to start doing this a few days ago.  It lets me rest my head and we both fall asleep.  It’s a light sleep for me but a deep sleep for him.   I will take what I can get! (my new mantra).

3.  We just started using a swing yesterday.  The first couple of times, Henry was wide awake and just enjoyed it for about 20 minutes before erupting into a fit of tears.  But today – oh yes, today! – he fell asleep in it.  Dear Reader, you have no idea how exciting this was!  I am able to eat breakfast with two hands!  I am able to sit back with a magazine!  I am able to blog!

I will be sure to post any other tips I gather during this journey in new motherhood.  So far, I have to say I am a huge fan.  The fact that Henry is starting to recognize me my boobs is just the icing on the cake!

**********************************************************

Since this blog is titled Frugal ‘n’ Fit and not Babies ‘n’ Boobies (although maybe it should be??!), I wanted to write a bit about these two topics!

Frugal: Being housebound for the past nine days has definitely curbed my spending.  Husband is out everyday picking up the odds and ends we need (newborn clothes, a space heater, movie rentals etc.), but we haven’t ordered any takeout (except for the Licks burgers we had the night I gave birth!).  I am officially off the payroll at work and anxiously await my first maternity leave benefit cheque.  I have no idea how much it will be.  I am anxious to create the budget I’ll follow this year based on how much I will receive.  One thing is for sure — I am already saving money based on my absence at Starbucks alone!

Fit: According to my midwife, I am to eat 1000 extra calories a day and not exercise for the next five weeks.

Not surprisingly, I have had no problem achieving this feat.  Eat more and exercise less?  Um, yes, I think that is within the scope of my abilities.  I try to eat as healthfully as possible, but with visitors come treats, and who am I to deny myself a treat?  I just gave birth, for heaven’s sake!  I need to eat 1000 extra calories a day!  This is what I tell myself, with an exclamation point to boot!

Yet as life begins to form (somewhat) of a routine and I’m able to cook and exercise again, I will be sure to post my progress on here.  I have no idea what I weigh.  Last I checked, I was punching in at 211 a week before giving birth.  I would like to get down to 170-ish which is around my pre-pregnancy weight.  Most importantly, I want to eat a wide variety of healthy food, because what I eat, my boy eats.  This was true in the womb, but seems even more real now that he is out here and I see it with my own two eyes.  Please stay tuned!

Cuteness Personified

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Henry Gigantes

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  November 13, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Glad to hear you’re a fan of motherhood! 😉 I’m fervishly writing notes to save for a few years!

    If things settle down in the near future we still need to go out for dinner and then I can steal Henry…erm…I mean, have a great conversation with you…

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 13, 2010 at 7:33 pm

      Ha! Yes, I would love to meet up for dinner sometime! Just the idea of leaving my house sounds appealing at this point…:)

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  November 14, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    so happy to hear everything is going so well. henry is one lucky man to have you as his mommy! {{{HUGS}}}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

