(Inadvertent) 5-Alarm Chili

November 2, 2010 at 10:41 am 7 comments

I think I am losing my cooking mojo.  On Saturday, I made a funky-tasting squash/apple/sweet potato soup, a combination of fruits and vegetables that I thought could never go wrong!  Then last night, I made a standard recipe for Chili, a recipe I have made many times before, but something must have been up with my new supply of chili powder, because it was seriously the spiciest thing I have ever tasted!  Husband agreed, and we have had our share of spicy foods (Sri Lankan, Indian, Thai etc.).

I barely made it through a small bowl.  At the very least, it encouraged me to drink more than my usual amount of water.

Thankfully, the Cornmeal and Whole Wheat Quick Bread I baked to go along with it turned out much better.  This recipe is a keeper.  It is a great accompaniment to chilies and stews, but is also great topped with jam for breakfast.

***Adapted from the September 2010 issue of Canadian Living magazine***

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup cornmeal

1/3 cup oat or wheat bran

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

2/3 cup milk with 1 tbsp of vinegar

2/3 cup butter, melted

3 tbsp liquid honey

2 eggs

1.  In  a large bowl, stir together the milk, butter, honey and eggs.  Add all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, all but 2 tbsp of the cornmeal, the oat or wheat bran, brown sugar, and baking soda.  Stir just enough to thoroughly mix and then scrape it into a loaf pan (I have a silicone loaf pan, but if you are using a metal one, be sure to line it with parchment paper).

2.  Bake in a 350 F oven until a knife inserted into the centre comes out clean, about 45-50 minutes.  Let cool in pan on rack for 10 minutes.

Almost makes up for the inedible chili.  Almost.

The past few days, I’ve been sleeping much better than I have in weeks.  I think thoughts (and stress) of work are now firmly behind me.  I go to bed around 11 pm each night and wake up around 8 am.  I do toss and turn a lot, use the washroom once or twice, and have sore hips, but it’s so great to spend 9 hours in bed each night.  I don’t feel guilty.  I feel like I should sleep as much as I can right now!  Lord knows my sleep schedule is about to receive a bullet to the head in the coming weeks…

While drinking my morning coffee today, I also finished reading this fabulous book!

A library book, of course.  Of course!

Bill Bryson is renowned for being a fantastic, humorous writer who can take pretty much any subject and make it fascinating.  If you like history, random facts, Trivial Pursuit, and/or Jeopardy, you will love this book!  The basic gist is that he explores each room in his mid-19th century house located in the British countryside and elaborates on the history of how each came to be.  The chapter on the bathroom evolves into lengthy discussion about the history of hygiene practices; the dressing room discusses historical fashions; the kitchen inspires a conversation about agriculture and famine etc.  It is just loaded with tons of anecdotes and historical facts you’d never learn in school.  We all know Christopher Columbus sailed the ocean blue in 1492, but did you know he (and his crew) are responsible for bringing syphilis to Europe from the Americas?  And without Columbus, would I have made a Cornmeal and Whole Wheat Quick Bread, since he is also responsible for introducing corn to Europe?  Pretty fascinating stuff to dorks like me!

The next book in my queue is Jennifer Weiner’s Little Earthquakes which is a novel about four new mothers.  Not sure I will have much time to finish it, but I think the subject matter is totally appropriate at this time in my life.

Today’s Agenda:

  • Make a Green Monster!
  • Walk to Price Chopper with Husband to buy shaving cream (you know that life is an exciting thrill ride of adventures when…)
  • Watch Young Victoria
  • Watch natural childbirth videos on youtube with Husband.  Err, wish us luck with this one!
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Movember Henry

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becca  |  November 2, 2010 at 11:53 am

    I really need to find cornmeal – I love cornbread, but we just don’t have it in the UK! I love Bill Bryson – I’m halfway through Notes From A Small Island and it’s hilarious!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 2, 2010 at 4:23 pm

      Good luck on the search for cornmeal! It’s such a staple around here, it’s funny to think of it as a rare commodity 🙂

      Isn’t Bill Bryson the best? I want to read Notes from a Small Island as well as his book about Australia. I think he could write a 400-page book about ants and it would be absolutely fascinating!

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  November 2, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    some of the natural childbirth videos are scary, well the women are anyways. not everyone screams at the top of their lungs with their eyes bulging out. they just dont know how to control themselves, and breathe! just thought id warn you… and you should maybe watch a c-section one, its amazing how the baby comes out that way too.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 2, 2010 at 4:24 pm

      Good advice about watching a c-section one. That way, if it does come down to having one, maybe I won’t be so petrified in the moment! If you have any other advice about giving birth, I’m all ears!

      Reply
  • 5. Sarah  |  November 2, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I hope you have not lost your knack for making nanner bread….LOL

    ps. what did you think of young victoria?

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 2, 2010 at 8:59 pm

      John Lee Scott would be so disappointed if I stopped making nanner bread!

      I just finished watching Young Victoria and I really liked it! With period films, I always have a hard time at the beginning getting a sense of the story line, but once I did, I found it pretty interesting. I’d like to read a biography about Queen Victoria now.

      Reply
  • 7. quietlifeinct  |  November 2, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    I really want to read that Bill Bryson book, I’ll have to request it from the library soon! Glad to hear it’s as good as I hoped it would be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

