Movember

November 1, 2010 at 12:38 pm 8 comments

Happy Movember!

November and February are traditionally my most-despised months, but for obvious reasons, I do not feel my usual hate.  For one, it is the month of my son’s birth!  *insert OMG face here*  For two, I do not have to go to work (I promise I will stop mentioning this in every entry; this will likely happen sometime in mid-March).  For three, today is beautiful!

I’ve found that a great way to start my day is by having a bowl of yogurt and granola and then immediately going for a 1/2 hour walk.  I wonder how this routine will change once baby arrives?  I was thinking I could still probably get out for a quick 20 minute jaunt once he is fed and sleeping again, since Husband is often home in the mornings (today he started work at noon).  I would bring baby along with, but don’t feel comfortable doing that in the cold months!

I just really want to make sure I get at least a bit of fresh air and exercise this winter.  I can easily see myself hibernating away, wrapped in blankets and eating an abundance of carbohydrates.  That doesn’t sound so bad…until even my beloved yoga pants won’t fit!  <– Possibly speaking from experience.  Possibly.

The maple tree on my front lawn

Along with daily walks, another of my “healthy hopes” is to have either a salad or Green Monster each day.  I’ve mostly been having GMs because I’ve been having leftovers for lunch. Today’s lunch consisted of:

  • Leftover snobby joe mix on three small slices of rye bread
  • Leftover steamed veggies
  • Black grapes
  • Slice of Jalapeno Havarti cheese

The chocolate chip cookies are calling my name, but I am trying to hold out until my snack of a GM later this afternoon.  Will power, where art thou?!!?

My plans for the rest of the day involve:

  • Watching Oprah.  Portia De Rossi, aka Ellen’s wife, is going to be talking about her experience with anorexia.
  • Making Oh She Glow’s chili along with a loaf of quick bread (new recipe!  If good, will be sure to share)
  • Watching It’s Complicated (got it in the mail this morning via Zip)
  • Avoiding Halloween candy like it’s The Plague (except it’s not The Plague, is it?  It is actually the complete opposite of The Plague in every single way.)
  • Waiting to give birth <– Requisite to-do list item

A Bootsy Paw For Your Enjoyment

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Happy Halloween! (Inadvertent) 5-Alarm Chili

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  November 1, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    I think your healthy plans for after baby is totally doable. Your health is super important or else you won’t be able to take care of him! Besides, it gives Dad and Son some bonding time!

    I’m so excited for you!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 1, 2010 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks Therese! It is hard to create a new “healthy” schedule when my whole life is about to flip upside down, but I am going to try my best. I think keeping this blog will help me stay motivated, too 🙂

      Reply
    • 3. Sarah  |  November 1, 2010 at 8:29 pm

      He he he… Robyn, do you think Dad will get up that early to watch Henry? If he’s anything like his co-workers, you can take that walk at noon LOL

      ps. that first picture looks like something exploded across the street… either that or it’s God’s house. I think only he could afford those houses anyways… 🙂

      Reply
      • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 1, 2010 at 8:55 pm

        Dad will definitely be getting up that early — there are diapers to change and Mom will be busy drinking her morning coffee! 🙂

  • 5. Amanda C  |  November 1, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    I hate November too. Bad coincidence, since it’s my birthday month, so you know that if you hate a month with all your heart AND it’s your birthday month, there’s something going on. Poor Henry. Maybe this year will be different? Dave is doing Movember, which I think is hilarious, so if anything I’ll have a good laugh everyday.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 1, 2010 at 1:53 pm

      Sorry, not sure if I replied properly to your message or not and don’t want you thinking I ignored you! My reply is below this message 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  November 1, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    It’s the lack of sunlight and frigid temps that do me in. But I do like the gradual amping up towards Christmas! I hope this year is different for you! Are you a Scorpio?

    Reply
    • 8. Amanda C  |  November 1, 2010 at 1:58 pm

      Sure am a Scorpio!

      I don’t mind the temperatures so much, its more the lack of sunlight. This morning I was in a dead sleep when my alarm went off, thanks to the lack of sunlight. Dave has a complicated system to wake up, that starts by turning on a bedside light when I get up, then another one a little later, and finally he asks me to turn on the overhead light when I get dressed and/or leave.

      I’m hoping its different this year! So far October wasn’t too bad, and for the first time in awhile I’m looking forward to Christmas. I still scoffed at how fast Pharmaprix put up their Christmas tree (already???), but yet I’m starting to think about where ours is going to go, and how its going to be decorated.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

