Happy Halloween!

October 31, 2010 at 5:02 pm 2 comments

Before the sun goes down and the ghosts, goblins, and “snookies” start knocking at my door looking for candy (or gorilla juice heads!), I thought I’d write a short post now.

This morning I went for a 1/2 hour walk before the rest of the world woke up.  This is my favourite time to walk because the streets are so quiet, especially on a Sunday morning.  Now that I am merely 6 days away from my due date, I always make sure to bring my cell with me, just in case a baby decides he wants to use that moment to make his appearance. Thankfully, he stayed put, and I was able to stroll the complete 1/2 hour without any pain or discomfort.  This is an achievement because during the past couple of walks, I’ve had some Braxton Hicks contractions which makes walking just a tad more difficult.  Today was perfect.  I even spotted this beautiful sunflower, one of the last remnants of summer before Mr. Frosty or Father Christmas or whoever it is who is in charge of freezing cold weather decides to show up.

Indeed, this afternoon brought with it Toronto’s first snowfall of the season.  We just had a few flurries, but it was enough to make me and the people around me say a few profanities.  Just a few, though.

Do you spot the kitty?  Do you spot the port-o-potty? (They are building houses across the street!)

My in-laws came over with a new kitchen table that was originally my husband’s grandparents’ and then my brother-in-law’s.  His family is moving and bought a new kitchen table, so we inherited the beautiful oak dining set.  It is much nicer that our $139 set from IKEA but it took us the majority of the afternoon to 1) figure out how to get it into our tiny house and 2) put the top on the base.  Ok, let me rephrase that.  It took my in-laws and husband the majority of the afternoon to put it together while I sat on the couch and rubbed my giant belly.

But I made dinner!  Brownie points?  No?

Now I am just anxiously awaiting the first trick-or-treaters of the night.  My bowl of candy is ready and waiting!

A noted lack of Peanut Butter Cups.  Hmmmm, how did that happen?

This Sunday night feels different than what I’m used to.  Of course, this is partly because of Halloween, but it is mainly because tomorrow is my first Monday off work!  I still wake up each morning feeling like it’s Christmas, although even with more than a year off, I am already wondering/stressing about my work-life balance once I must return to work (anyone offering free daycare in the Greater Toronto area?).  Talk about putting the cart before the horse!  Sometimes I need to remind myself to just chill out and enjoy the ride.  The my-baby-is-coming-soon-and-I-don’t-have-wear-anything-other-than-yoga-pants-for-a-year ride!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Frightening Jack-o-lantern Below: You’ve Been Warned! Movember

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  October 31, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    but what did you eat today robyn? lol

    other than all the peanut butter cups that is….

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  October 31, 2010 at 9:10 pm

      Just for you!

      Breakfast: Banana, granola, vanilla yogurt
      Lunch: Salad, chocolate chip cookie
      Snack: 2 cups of tea
      Dinner: lasagna, steamed veggies, baked beans, two slices of bread and butter, GIANT slice of pumpkin pie
      Snack: 2 Halloween candies
      Now: Lemon perrier because I am fancy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

