Frightening Jack-o-lantern Below: You’ve Been Warned!

October 30, 2010 at 12:37 pm 5 comments

Last night was another wild and crazy Friday night!  It involved lentils and pumpkin carving.  I’m surprised the cops weren’t called by the neighbours.

I am really embracing my inner frugalista and wanted to make an economical Friday night dinner.  I chose Squash/Sweet Potato/Apple soup and Lentil Rice Casserole.  Wholesome, healthy, and frugal.  Done, done, and done.

Unfortunately, the soup was not very tasty.  It was made of veggie brother, a butternut squash, two apples, and one sweet potato, along with a diced onion, nutmeg, and cayenne pepper.  I thought for sure this would be a win, but it had kind of an off-putting taste.  Totally disappointing!

The Lentil Rice casserole was much better!  I followed the linked recipe almost exactly, just subbing in veggie stock for chicken.

The blending of these herbs gave the kitchen a wonderful fragrance.  It just smelled so cozy!  I don’t think I have ever described an odor as cozy before.

Dinner for Two at Chez Cheapo

After dinner, we decided to carve our pumpkin!

Under Bootsy’s diligent tutelage

Out of all of the awesome, scary images to choose from, what did we decide to carve?

Kitty!

Because that is how we roll.

This morning I went grocery shopping at THREE different stores.  I had to scope out the best deals!  Here are some of my great finds:

– Palmolive – $1 a bottle!

– 6 Dempster bagels – $1 (So I bought three packages!)

– Red peppers – $1 a pound (Notice a theme here…)

– Macaroni noodles – 75 cents a bag

– Red Rose tea – 72 bags for $1.84 – 2.6 cents a bag!  How often do you get that much enjoyment for 2.6 cents?!

When I am not too conscientious about my spending, I usually spend around $90 a week on groceries.  This week’s bill?  Just a bit under $70.  It’s definitely more work to examine the flyers, write lists, and actually go to the different stores, but with an average savings of $20 or so a week, that is an annual savings of $1,040 which can easily fly two adults to Orlando, Florida this upcoming February.  If that isn’t motivation, I don’t know what is.

Today’s agenda has so far included banana chocolate chip pancakes and listening to hubby on Xbox 360 kill zombies or aliens or I don’t know what all.  At this point, I’ve lost track of his virtual enemies.

Have a great Caturday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

When life hands you defunct granola bars… Happy Halloween!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  October 30, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    i know someone who would be scared by that pumpkin!!! LOL

    my friday night included lentils and pumpkin carving too! we are both out of control.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  October 31, 2010 at 4:46 pm

      I am still recovering from Friday night’s exploits!

      Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  October 30, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    what or who rather is veggie brother?
    and i knew youd do a kitty pumpkin!
    you are the crazy cat lady, after all 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  October 31, 2010 at 4:47 pm

      Veggie brother? Sorry, I don’t know what you mean?

      I am totally a crazy cat lady, loud and proud! 🙂

      Reply
    • 5. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  October 31, 2010 at 7:29 pm

      Sorry just saw what you meant now! I meant to write veggie broth! Whoops!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

